Skip to main content

Fishel Nominated for U.S. Soccer Young Female Player of Year

Dec 9, 2020
Mia Fishel

UCLA sophomore forward Mia Fishel has been selected as one of three nominees for the U.S. Soccer Young Female Player of the Year award.

Fishel, who earned her first U.S. Women's National Team call-up in October, won the Golden Ball at the 2020 Concacaf U-20 Women's Championship, scoring 13 goals in the tournament, a record for any Youth National Team player in any Concacaf competition. Two of her 13 goals were scored in the championship game, including the game-winner.

During her freshman season at UCLA in 2019, Fishel led UCLA scoring with 14 goals, six game-winning goals and 31 points. She was also the Bruins' leading scorer in the postseason, tallying five goals and 11 points to help lead UCLA to the College Cup. Selected to Top Drawer Soccer's Freshman Best XI, Fishel ranked third among all freshmen in the nation in goals scored. The San Diego native was selected to the Pac-12's all-conference third team and to the all-freshman squad.

Fishel has had extensive experience with the U.S. Youth National Teams. In addition to her record-setting run at the 2020 Concacaf Championships, she also scored a goal for the U.S in the 2018 FIFA Under-17 World Cup and won the Golden Ball at the 2016 Concacaf U-15 Championship.

UCLA soccer alumnae Abby Dahlkemper and Sam Mewis were named among the five nominees for the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year award. Dahlkemper led the USA in minutes played for the second year in a row and played almost every minute for her club during the adapted 2020 NWSL season. Mewis scored four times in Olympic qualifying and took her talents overseas this fall to Manchester City, where she scored in the FA Cup Final and helped City raise the trophy.

Five Bruins have won the Young Female Player of the Year award – Danesha Adams in 2006, Lauren Holiday in 2007, Sydney Leroux in 2011, Mal Pugh in 2015 and Ashley Sanchez in 2016 – while only Holiday in 2014 has won the Female Player of the Year award.

Votes for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards are collected from respective National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2020, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes' Council, National Women's Soccer League head coaches (for the USWNT awards) and American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches (for the USMNT awards), select media members and former players and administrators. In addition, select college coaches vote for the USWNT award. The winners will be announced on Friday, Dec. 18.