Skip to main content

No. 10 @ASUWrestling Claims 39-3 Victory Over Little Rock

Jan 2, 2021

Sun Devil Home Events in 2020-21

TEMPE - The No. 10 Sun Devil wrestling team claimed their first victory of the 2021 season over Little Rock, 39-3, in Desert Financial Arena Saturday afternoon.

"I think overall it was a good match and competed well," head coach Zeke Jones said. "We came and did what we were supposed to do. Our conditioning was solid and I think we wrestled well in all three positions and I liked our mentality."

ASU notched five bonus-point wins, including three pins from Sun Devils Jacori Teemer (157), Cade Belshay (184) and Kordell Norfleet (197) to secure the win.

Opening the match, redshirt junior Brandon Courtney (125) was put to the test against Jayden Carson, but was ultimately able to pull away to notch a 15-11 decision victory to put the Sun Devils on the board.

Transfers Michael McGee (133) and Peter Lipari (141) made their debut in Sun Devil singlets as they claimed wins over their Little Rock counterparts.

Redshirt senior Cory Crooks continued the success on the mat as Crooks extended ASU's lead to 13-0 over Little Rock with a decision win. He would be undefeated on the day with a second victory in the extra matches.

After 38 seconds on the mat, Teemer would pin James Aziere to claim the first pin of the 2021 season while adding six points to the team score. 

Redshirt senior Anthony Valencia (165) kept his foot on the gas out of the break, earning his first bonus-point win this year and placing his name amongst the all-time ASU greats, tying for 9th all-time career bonus wins with 47 after picking up the technical fall over Alexander Hernandez, 20-3.

Little Rock would follow-up with their lone victory on the day in the 174 weight class with Triston Wills defeating redshirt freshman Zane Coleman to put the Trojans on the board. This was the first dual as a Sun Devil for the Oklahoma native, Coleman. 

Redshirt senior Cade Belshay would top Teemer's pin time by one second to claim the fastest fall on the day. The Sun Devils didn't stop there as Chicago native Kordell Norfleet followed the lead of Teemer and Belshay, adding the final pin of the night in 1:41.

"That's what makes Sun Devil Wrestling great. Guys like Teemer, Valencia and Norfleet come every day and are smashing machines, you can see why they are well skilled in all their areas, they put the work in to pay their dues and they get rewarded when they compete." 

At heavyweight, redshirt freshman Cohlton Schultz stepped onto the mat for the first time as a Sun Devil and closed out the dual for ASU with a solid 2-0 victory over Gabriel Beyer.

With the individual matches in play for the NCAA Tournament, Courtney, McGee, Crooks, Valencia, Norfleet and Schultz are all 2-0. True freshman Jesse Vasquez also made an appearance with a 12-6 decision victory over Joseph Bianchi in 149.

The Sun Devils will head to Norman to face No. 20 Oklahoma on Friday, January 8 at 6 p.m. MST. The bout can be streamed live on Fox Sports Arizona Plus.

Remember to follow all of the action by following the team at @ASUWrestling on Twitter.

Results: No. 10 Arizona State 39, Little Rock 3

125: Brandon Courtney (ASU) over Jayden Carson (UALR) (Dec 15-11) 

133: Michael McGee (ASU) over Paul Bianchi (UALR) (MD 10-2) 

141: Peter Lipari (ASU) over Conner Ward (UALR) (Dec 6-0) 

149: Cory Crooks (ASU) over Kyle Prewitt (UALR) (Dec 9-3) 

157: Jacori Teemer (ASU) over James Aziere (UALR) (Fall 0:38) 

165: Anthony Valencia (ASU) over Alexander Hernandez (UALR) (TF 20-3 5:21) 

174: Triston Wills (UALR) over Zane Coleman (ASU) (Dec 7-1) 

184: Cade Belshay (ASU) over Zane Davis (UALR) (Fall 0:37) 

197: Kordell Norfleet (ASU) over James Johnson (UALR) (Fall 1:41) 

285: Cohlton Schultz (ASU) over Gabriel Beyer (UALR) (Dec 2-0)

Results: Individual Matches Post-Dual

125: Brandon Courtney (ASU) over Hasan Krigger (Little Rock) (TF 24-8 7:00)

133: Michael McGee (ASU) over Jaylen Carson (UALR) (MD 19-5)

149: Cory Crooks (ASU) over Joseph Bianchi (UALR) (Dec 3-1) 

149: Kyle Prewitt (UALR) over Julian Chlebove (ASU) (MD 21-8) 

149: Jesse Vasquez (ASU) over Joseph Bianchi (UALR) (Dec 12-6) 

165: Anthony Valencia (ASU) over Zeke Beach (UALR) (Fall 0:37) 

174: Tanner Mendoza (UALR) over Ryan Moltz (ASU) (Dec 9-3) 

174: Tanner Mendoza (UALR) over Alex Torres (ASU) (Dec 6-5) 

174: Triston Wills (UALR) over Ryan Moltz (ASU) (TF 17-1 2:55) 

197: Kordell Norfleet (ASU) over Brooks Sacharczyk (UALR) (TF 20-4 5:20) 

197: James Johnson (UALR) over David Palosika (ASU) (MD 14-1) 

197: Brooks Sacharczyk (UALR) over David Palosika (ASU) (MD 16-3) 

285: Josiah Hill (UALR) over Chad Porter (ASU) (MD 10-2) 

285: Gabriel Beyer (UALR) over Chad Porter (ASU) (Dec 4-1) 

285: Cohlton Schultz (ASU) over Josiah Hill (UALR) (Fall 1:11)