Skip to main content

Lily Justine Named 2021 NCAA Today's Top 10 Award Recipient

Jan 6, 2021
Lily Justine helped UCLA win back-to-back NCAA Championships in 2018 and 2019.

SOCIAL MEDIA: BeachVB on Twitter | BeachVB on Facebook | BeachVB on Instagram

INDIANAPOLIS -- In January, 10 exceptional former student-athletes will be honored during the NCAA Convention as the 2021 Today's Top 10 Award winners and UCLA's Lily Justine will be one of the recipients.

The award recognizes former student-athletes for their successes on the field, in the classroom and in the community. Recipients will be recognized during a virtual Honors Celebration awards show on Wednesday, Jan. 13. The show will be streamed at 7 p.m. Eastern time on the NCAA Twitter account and on the ESPN app.

Justine helped the Bruins win their first beach volleyball national championship in 2018 and a second national title in 2019. She was named a first-team All-American by the American Volleyball Coaches Association in 2019 and received honorable mention All-America honors in 2018. Both seasons, she was a member of the All-Pac-12 team and the All-Pac-12 tournament team, while the conference also named her to the All-Academic beach volleyball first team in 2019 after she garnered second-team honors the previous year. Justine was awarded the Athletic Director's Academic Excellence Award in 2020, given to student-athletes who make the Athletic Director's Honor Roll every quarter at UCLA for their entire career.

A member of the Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society, Justine graduated cum laude. She founded the Lily Justine Beach Volleyball Camp to share her passion and donated all the money to renovating and expanding the community courts where she first learned to play beach volleyball. Justine was elected by her teammates to the Bruin Athletic Council and served three years organizing collaborative community service projects between university athletic teams. She also volunteered as a physical therapy aide. Justine currently works as a research assistant at the UC Davis Biomechanics, Rehabilitation, and Integrative Neuroscience Laboratory.

The honorees are selected by the NCAA Honors Committee, composed of representatives of NCAA member schools, conferences and distinguished citizens, including past awardees.

Before 2013, the award recognized eight student-athletes and was known as Today's Top VIII. The NCAA Honors Committee expanded the award to include 10 honorees to recognize the growing number of college athletes, sports and championship opportunities. This year's recipients competed in 10 sports, including one emerging sport.

The nine other 2021 Today's Top 10 awardees include Nia Akins (University of Pennsylvania/cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field), Bernardo Amaral Neves (Washington University in St. Louis/tennis), Brittny Ellis (Miami/indoor and outdoor track and field), Alison Gibson (Texas/swimming and diving), Eoin Gronningsater (Duke/fencing), Deshawn Jones (Missouri University of Science and Technology/football), Kayla Leland (Whitworth University/cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field, and basketball), Asia Seidt (Kentucky/swimming and diving), and Juah Toe (West Chester University of Pennsylvania/rugby).