Skip to main content

Onyenwere Named to Wooden Award Midseason Top 25

Jan 6, 2021

Wooden Award Midseason Top 25

LOS ANGELES – Michaela Onyenwere has been named to the midseason Top 25 watch list for the John R. Wooden Award™ Presented by Wendy's, the award announced Tuesday. The honor is presented annually to the most outstanding player in college basketball.
The 25 players were selected to the list by a poll of national college basketball experts based on their respective performances throughout the 2020-21 season thus far. The list was announced Wednesday afternoon on ESPNU.
Onyenwere earned a spot on the preseason Top 30 watch list and her impressive play has helped garner her a spot on the midseason list. She ranks second in the Pac-12 in scoring (18.9 ppg) and rebounding (8.4 rpg) and has already registered three double-doubles on the year. The senior has already scored 151 points this season and has climbed to 14th place on the all-time UCLA Women's Basketball scoring list (1,600 pts).
The Aurora, Colo., native is coming off a stellar performance in the Bruins' win at then-No. 8 Oregon, in which she scored a career-high 33 points on 12-for-20 shooting. Her putback layup with under a minute to play put UCLA up 73-71 and proved to be the game-winning field goal, as the Bruins snapped the Ducks' 27-game winning streak.
The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the 2021 John R. Wooden Award Women's Player of the Year presented by Wendy's. Players not chosen to the preseason or midseason list are still eligible for the Wooden Award™ mid, late season list, and the National Ballot. The Wooden Award All American Team™ will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round of the NCAA Tournament. The winner of the 2021 John R. Wooden Award will be presented by Wendy's following the NCAA Tournament in April.
About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award Program hosts the most prestigious honors in college basketball recognizing The Wooden Award Most Outstanding Player for men and women, The Wooden Award All American Teams for men and women and the annual selection of the Wooden Award Legend of Coaching recipient. Honorees have proven to their university that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the John R. Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee, including making progress towards graduation and maintaining at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. Previous winners include Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Kevin Durant ('07), Candace Parker ('07; '08), Maya Moore ('09; '11), Chiney Ogwumike ('14), Breanna Stewart ('15 and '16) and last year's recipients, Sabrina Ionescu of Oregon and Obi Toppin of Dayton.