Skip to main content

USC Greats Tim Hovland, Sue Woodstra Named To 2021 Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall Of Fame

Jan 19, 2021


LOS ANGELES -- USC volleyball greats Tim Hovland and Sue Woodstra have been named to the 11-member 2021 class of the Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame. 
The other inductees in the fifth class of the SCIVBHOF are: Wink Davenport, Bernie Holtzman, John Hyden, Tammy Leibl, Holly McPeak, Ryan Millar, Sharon Peterson, Reid Priddy and Fred Sturm, along with Lifetime Service winner Linda Murphy. 
An induction banquet will be held later this year, pending the COVID-19 pandemic allowances. 
Hovland was a 3-time (1979-81) All-American first teamer who led USC to the 1980 NCAA crown and runner-up finishes in 1979 and 1981 (earning NCAA All-Tournament honors each year). In 2000, he was named to Volleyball magazine's All-Century first team. 

After USC, he played with the U.S. National team, then became one of beach volleyball's winningest players. "The Hov" won 60 beach tourneys and $1 million before retiring in 2000. He was inducted into the USC Athletic Hall of Fame in 2009 and the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame in 2020.

He was named USA Volleyball All-America first team 6 times from 1979 to 1984 while leading Nautilus Pacific to 4 titles in the USA Volleyball Open National Championships during that span. He earned silver with Team USA at the 1981 NORCECA Championship in addition to playing 8 years in the Italian Serie A1 pro league. 
Woodstra led USC to the 1977 AIAW Championship, earning All-America status. She was part of the 1980 USA Olympic team that boycotted in Moscow and then captained the 1984 silver medal-winning Olympic team. She was selected as a USVBA All-Time Great in 1993 and was named to the USAV All-Era Team. 
After her professional career, which included playing with the NEC Volleyball Team of the Japan League (1984-88), Woodstra turned to coaching. She was an assistant at Arizona State (1985-88), Notre Dame (1994), Florida State (1999-2001) and with the 2008 USA silver medal-winning Olympic women's team. She also served as head coach at Pittsburgh (1989-92), SC Munchen in Germany (1993), California (1995-98), Humboldt State (2002-06 and 2008-12) and the U.S. women's national team (2007). She was inducted into the AVCA Hall of Fame in 2006. 
Fifteen others with USC ties were previously inducted in the first four classes of the SCIVBHOF: Patti Lucas Bright, Debbie Landreth Brown, Dusty Dvorak, Debbie Green, Mick Haley, Ernie Hix, Bryan Ivie, Ron Lang, Jeff Nygaard, Pat Powers, April Ross, Gary Sato, Steve Timmons, Paula Weishoff and Bob Yoder.