Skip to main content

Wright Named Bob Cousy Award Top 10 Finalist

Jan 25, 2021

BOULDER – University of Colorado junior McKinley Wright IV has been named a Top 10 finalist for the 2021 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday.

Wright was one of 10 finalists for the 2020 Cousy Award.

A two-time All-Pac-12 Conference First Team selection, Wright leads Colorado at 14.8 points, 5.8 assists and just under a steal per game. He is third on the team in shooting at 51.7 percent and fourth in rebounding at 4.7 per game.

Wright is closing in on a historical milestone, needing seven assists and 20 rebounds to become the first Pac-12 player to ever record 1,600 points, 600 rebounds and 600 assists in a career. He became the 10th player in Colorado history to reach 1,600 points (1,606) after pitching in 12 at Washington State on Saturday.

Wright is a three-time Pac-12 Player of the Week this season and currently ranks second in the conference in assists fourth in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.9), 11th in field goal percentage, 12th in scoring and minutes and 14th in free throw shooting (.789).

Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its 18th year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in November, which has now been narrowed to just 10.
In late February, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. 

The winner of the 2021 Bob Cousy Award will be presented April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live Friday, Nov. 6 at  
For more information on the 2021 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram.
2021 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates

Jared Butler Baylor
McKinley Wright IV Colorado
Marcus Zegarowski Creighton
Scottie Barnes Florida State
Jalen Suggs Gonzaga
Ayo Dosunmu Illinois
Carlik Jones Louisville
Marcus Carr Minnesota
Cade Cunningham Oklahoma State
Collin Gillespie Villanova