Skip to main content

Anderson and Smith named to Hermann Watch List

Jan 28, 2021

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Two Golden Bears have been named to the Watch List for the 2021 Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced on Thursday. 

The Hermann Trophy is awarded annually to the top male and female college soccer players. The selection process for the award begins with a list of potential nominees selected for the Watch List by the NSCAA NCAA Division I All-America nominating committee. 

Both Angelina Anderson and Emily Smith enter the 2020-21 season with great success to build off. The duo received All-American honors at the end of the 2019 season - Anderson was selected as a second-team All-American and Smith garnered second-team Scholar All-American honors. The pair joins a pool of 54 Division I women's soccer players from 36 teams. The full Watch List is available here

Anderson, the reigning Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and TopDrawer Soccer National Freshman of the Year, led the conference with a 0.851 save percentage. The Danville native made a total of 86 saves last season, the second-most in a single season in Cal women's soccer history, which helped pave the way for her Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year title. 

Smith, a Los Gatos native, has gained conference honors in each of her past three seasons with the Bears. The defender became the first player in conference history to be named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week three times in a single season in 2019. A mainstay on the Cal backline, Smith helped the Bears post 10 shutouts in 2017 and 2019. Smith's defensive talent was recognized in the 2021 NWSL Draft when Racing Louisville FC selected her with the 31st pick. 

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, the nominating committees will narrow 15 female student athletes and 15 male student-athletes whom the committee considers the best in Division I soccer as semifinalists for the award. Afterwards, Division I soccer coaches whose teams are current NSCAA College Services members vote online to determine the finalists for the award. 

From that pool of 30, a total of six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the final balloting for the award. The finalists will be invited for the official announcement of the two winners at a press conference prior to the annual MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet.

For more information and updates throughout the year, follow the Bears on Twitter (@CalWSoc), Instagram (@CalWSoc), and Facebook (