Skip to main content

Osborne Named to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 10 Watch List

Feb 2, 2021

Springfield, Mass. – Charisma Osborne has been tabbed to the 2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Tuesday. Osborne is one of 10 players to be named to the current watch list for the top shooting guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball.
Osborne has performed as one of the best guards in the country throughout the 2020-21 season. She opened her sophomore campaign with a 31-point outing in UCLA's victory over Cal State Fullerton (Nov. 27), and has gone on to lead the Pac-12 in scoring with 19.3 points per game. She has notched at least 20 points in each of her last five games, helping to lead UCLA to five-straight victories and the No. 5 spot on the most recent AP Top 25 poll. In addition to her prolific scoring, Osborne has become an all-around distributor for the Bruins. She has dished out 46 assists this season, already surpassing her total of 44 from last year. She has recorded at least six assists in four games this season, including a career-high eight dimes in the team's win over Utah (Jan. 10). The Moreno Valley, Calif., native has also been strong on the glass grabbing 5.1 rebounds per game.
Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds of consideration for the nominees. The current watch list of 10 players will be narrowed to a group of five finalists, which will be presented to Meyers Drysdale in early March. The winner of the 2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be presented on Friday, April 9, 2021, along with the rest of the Women's Starting Five.
Women's Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies is scheduled to go live on Friday, Feb. 5.
About Ann Meyers Drysdale:
This award is named for UCLA Women's Basketball legend, Ann Meyers Drysdale. She was the first player, male or female, to earn All-America honors in four straight years (1975-78) and helped lead the Bruins to an AIAW National Championship in 1978. She was the first player drafted into the Women's Basketball League and became the first woman to try out with an NBA team, as she signed a free agent contract with the Indiana Pacers in 1980. She was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1993 and has had a successful career as an executive in the WNBA. She is currently a Vice President for the Phoenix Mercury and a commentator for the Phoenix Suns.
2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates*
Aari McDonald, Arizona
Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas
Christyn Williams, Connecticut
Sonya Morris, DePaul
Dana Evans, Louisville
Ashley Owusu, Maryland
Ariella Guirantes, Rutgers
Zia Cooke, South Carolina
Kiana Williams, Stanford
Charisma Osborne, UCLA
*Players can earn their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2020-21 season.