Skip to main content

Fleming, McCray To Be Inducted Into Ring of Honor

Feb 12, 2021

TUCSON, Ariz. – The University of Arizona Department of Athletics announced on Friday that former men's basketball standouts Al Fleming Jr. (posthumously) and Ernie McCray will be inducted into the Ring of Honor at halftime of the Feb. 27 game in the McKale Center against Washington.
More information and complete listing of Arizona's Ring of Honor
Due to the COVID-19 restrictions in place, the induction on Feb. 27 will be a virtual ceremony. The families of both inductees will be invited to the McKale Center for a formal in-person induction ceremony at a later date.
Al Fleming Jr., who passed away in 2003, played at Arizona from 1972-76 and still holds the school record for career double-doubles (63), a stat that was not tracked during his playing days. He also continues to hold the school record for career rebounds (1,190). At the end of his playing career, he was Arizona's career leader in scoring with 1,765 points, a total that still ranks 10th in program lore. The Michigan City, Indiana native finished his illustrious career averaging 15.5 points and 10.4 rebounds while shooting 58.3% from the floor. During the 1973-74 season, Fleming Jr. connected at a 66.7% clip from the floor to lead the country and tie the NCAA single-season record at the time. On Jan. 10, 1976, he set the McKale Center record for points scored in a game, registering 41 against Detroit – with 33 coming in the second half. He was named First Team All-WAC and NCAA First Team All-District 7 in 1975 and 1976. Fleming was inducted into the UA Sports Hall of Fame in 1978.
Ernie McCray lettered from 1957-60 and set 12 school records during his senior season and became the first African-American men's basketball player to graduate from the University of Arizona. The Tucson native finished his career averaging 17.8 points and 10.8 rebounds and was the first player in school history to record 1,250 points and 800 rebounds in a career. The unanimous First Team All-Border Conference selection as a senior finished his career holding UA records for points in a career (1,349), season (573) and game (46) as well as single-season scoring average (23.8) and most field goals made in a season (198). His single-game scoring mark set on Feb. 6, 1960 still stands as the most points scored in a game by a Wildcat. McCray was also prolific in his day for getting to the foul line, logging 537 attempts at the charity stripe in his career. Following the 1960 season, McCray was named Third Team NABC All-District. He was inducted into the UA Sports Hall of Fame in 1988.
With the addition of Fleming Jr. and McCray, the total number of former men's basketball players officially inducted into the Ring of Honor climbs to 28. Last year's Pac-12 Freshman of the Year Zeke Nnaji has also qualified to be inducted, but an official induction date has not been determined.
Arizona Men's Basketball Ring of Honor Inductees
Here are the 27 players listed in order of enshrinement:
Bob Elliott, C, 1974-77
Steve Kerr, G, 1984-88
Sean Elliott, G/F, 1986-89
Jud Buechler, F, 1987-90
Sean Rooks, C, 1989-92
Chris Mills, F/G, 1991-93
Khalid Reeves, G, 1991-94
Damon Stoudamire, G, 1992-95
Miles Simon, G, 1995-98
Jason Terry, G, 1996-99
Mike Bibby, G, 1997-98
Michael Wright, F, 1999-2001
Richard Jefferson, F, 1999-2001
Jason Gardner. G, 2000-03
Luke Walton, F, 2000-03
Salim Stoudamire, G, 2002-05
Gilbert Arenas, G, 2000-01
Channing Frye, C, 2002-05
Chase Budinger, F, 2007-09
Derrick Williams, F, 2010-11
Andre Iguodala, F, 2003-04
Aaron Gordon, F, 2014
Nick Johnson, G, 2012-14
Stanley Johnson, G, 2015
Jerryd Bayless, G, 2008
Deandre Ayton, F, 2018
Al Fleming Jr., F, 1972-76
Ernie McCray, C, 1956-60
The qualifications to be inducted into the Ring of Honor are as follows:

  • First Team All-America recognition by one or more of the major national organizations or media
  • Major national "player of distinction", e.g. Heisman, Wooden, etc.; and/or national championship Most Valuable or Outstanding Player distinction
  • Pac-10/12 Player of the Year or Pac-10/12 Freshman of the Year; and Pac-10/12 Offensive or Defensive Player of the Year
  • Arizona Career leader in 3 or more major positive "career" categories at the conclusion of their collegiate career, must hold the career record for a minimum of 5 years (e.g., does not include single game record(s), minutes played, etc.)
  • 10+ years in the United States Major Professional Leagues of the NFL, NBA, WNBA and MLB and/or been selected as an All-Star/All Pro by the official league
  • Olympic Medalist

Arizona Athletics regularly reviews and evaluates the criteria and candidacies for all departmental awards, inductions and recognitions based on new information, updated resources, and reflections on historical context. A Heritage Committee, formed in 2017 and made up of current and former longtime athletics department staff, conducts these thorough reviews and makes recommendations based on all available information and considerations.