Skip to main content

Ortiz-Rivera and Barger Sweep Dave Murray Invitational

Feb 19, 2021

Twitter | Facebook | Photo Gallery | Instagram | Results

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona Cross Country competed in the Dave Murray Invitational, the team's last regular season meet, on Friday morning. Victor Ortiz-Rivera and Keelah Barger swept first place in both the men's 8k and women's 6k races.

Ortiz-Rivera won his race by 13 seconds with a PR time of 24:23.6, which is 20 seconds faster than his previous PR. The team's next top finisher was Shem Kemboi who finished ninth with a time of 25:06.0. The men's side finished third overall with a team score of 75 points.

Keelah Barger won the 6k by a margin of nine seconds, clocking a time of 21:34.3. She was joined in the top 10 by Alisa Lyesina who finished in eighth (22:09.8) and Grace Driskill in 10th (22:11.1). The women's team placed second overall with a score of 60, just one point shy of first place.

"I'm really happy that the team did very well," said Cross Country coach Bernard Lagat. "Victor and Keelah came here prepared. They knew what they had to do. The race shaped up to be a slower one for the girls so Keelah and the entire team knew how to run. All they had to do was go by the strategy of how the race unfolds. Same with Victor, he found himself feeling good in the front and decided not to look back, but to just go forward. That shows the confidence that the athletes have. I am very pleased with the results even though we were just one point away from the lead, but I like that because it gives us one more point to work towards next time."

The Wildcats will be back on March 5 for the Pac-12 Cross Country Championships.

Final Results

Men's 8k
1. Victor Ortiz-Rivera - 24:23.6
9. Shem Kemboi - 25:06.0
16. Bradley Rzewnicki - 25:48.7
24. Jeffrey Sillers - 26:39.1
28. Carlos Shultz - 26:53.3
33. Galvin Curley - 27:30.5
34. Brandon Bounds - 27:36.5

Women's 6k
1. Keelah Barger - 21:34.3
8. Alisa Lyesina - 22:09.8
10. Grace Driskill - 22:11.1
19. Peyton Heiden - 22:38.7
22. Meggie Karp - 22:56.2
24. Maddy Christopher - 23:01.0
26. Brigid Hanley - 23:06.1
35. Megan Bounds - 23:53.4

Fans can keep up with the latest in Arizona Track and Field by following us on Facebook (, Twitter (@ArizonaTrack), Instagram (arizonatrack) and YouTube ( accounts.