Skip to main content

2021 Pac-12 Women's Swimming Championships

Feb. 24-27 | Houston, TX


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to technical maintenance.

Stanford's Brooke Forde named Pac-12 Women's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Feb 26, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO – STANFORD senior Brooke Forde has been named the 2021 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Forde, a breaststroke, freestyle and individual medley swimmer from Louisville, Ky., is majoring in human biology and holds a cumulative 3.95 grade-point average. The 2018 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming Newcomer of the Year helped lead the Cardinal to Pac-12 titles in 2018, 2019 and 2020, and national championships in 2018 and 2019. 

The senior is a three-time national champion herself, with two titles in the 800-yard free relay (2018, 2019) and another in the 500 free in 2019. She’s also earned All-America honors 11 times, and ranks in the program’s top-10 in five different events: 500 free (2nd), 400 IM (5th), 200 breast (6th), 200 IM (6th) and 200 fly (8th). 

In the classroom, Forde was a 2019 Pac-12 All-Academic First Team selection and was named to the 2020 Pac-12 All-Academic Honor Roll. Since 2018, she has also received College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) All-Academic honors each year, and CoSIDA Academic All-America and All-District honors over the last two seasons. 

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Kayla Filipek, Arizona; Robin Neumann, California; Jemma Schlicht, USC; Emma Ruchala, Utah; Taylor McCoy, Washington State.