Skip to main content

Wrestling 2021 Pac-12 Champions

Feb 28, 2021

Sun Devil Wrestling Pac-12 Individual/Team Champions | Sun Devil Wrestling Media Guide 20/21 | Team Scores | 2021 Pac 12 final brackets

CORVALLIS, Ore. – The No. 6 Sun Devil wrestling dominated the conference with five individual titles to win its fourth Pac-12 Championship in five years after posting a 138 tournament point total. 

The conference title was ASU's 22nd all-time and 20th in the Pac-10/12 era with the help of five individual conference champion performances --- Brandon Courtney (125), Jacori Teemer (157), Anthony Valencia (165), Kordell Norfleet (197) and Cohlton Schultz (HWT).

"Overall, I'm proud of our men and how they competed. Anytime we can bring home another Pac-12 Championship that's great for all of the Sun Devils out there," head coach Zeke Jones said. "We're especially happy for Anthony Valencia picking up a great win. Shane Griffith is an outstanding wrestler and it's not often beating someone of that caliber. Jacori Teemer was an outstanding wrestler too."

"I still think we have work to do before the NCAA tournament if we're going to bring a trophy home. We have to be able to get off the bottom, get out of legs, and meet the underhook. If we do those things we will be in position to do it."

Valencia joins an elite group of Sun Devil wrestlers with his fourth Pac-12 Conference Championship title Sunday night. He is the third Sun Devil to do so, behind Eric Larkin and Markus Mollica.

The Pac-12 Conference awarded Valencia the 2021 Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships.

The difference to taking home the team title can also be pinpointed to the three Sun Devils who placed on the podium. Redshirt senior Cade Belshay pinned his opponent while Michael McGee claimed a major decision victory over his wrestler in their third place finishes. Fellow redshirt senior Cory Crooks also placed third with a decision victory.

No. 4 Valencia defeated the fellow top-seed No. 1 Shane Griffith from Stanford in arguably the night's biggest showdown. With three takedowns, he held Griffith to a 7-1 decision. 

"I'm just happy to be a part of this, I love these guys. They are my family and I want the best for the team," redshirt senior Anthony Valencia said.

A rematch from last year's 125 championship began the final round, with Brandon Courtney defeating Jackson DiSario in a 7-2 decision.

Reigning Pac-12 Champion Jacori Teemer pounced on Hunter Willits out of the gate with a quick takedown. Teemer continued to apply pressure on the mat, earning takedown points until the final whistle for a 9-4 decision over the Oregon State wrestler.

Top-seed at 197 lbs, Kordell Norfleet dominated Oregon State's J.J. Dixon. The Chicago-native earned a takedown 12 seconds into the bout and the score soared into double digits in the blink of an eye. With six takedowns and a bonus point from riding time, he won in a 16-4 major decision.

Rounding out the night was first-time Pac-12 Championships competitor Cohlton Schultz against Stanford's Nathan Traxler. The redshirt freshman claimed two points after three stall warnings were awarded to Traxler in the 3-1 decision victory.

Courtney, Teemer and Schultz will be making their first appearance at the NCAA's in a couple of weeks while Norfleet will be making his third showing. Valencia punched his fourth ticket to college wrestling's biggest tournament of the year.

The Sun Devils finished with 138 points as a team, while host Oregon State took second (123), Stanford third (115.5), Cal Poly fourth (107), Cal State Bakersfield fifth (97.5) and Little Rock sixth (69).

The 2021 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships brackets will be announced Wednesday, March 11 at 6 p.m. EST on five NCAA qualifiers will now get ready to compete in the final tournament of the season at the NCAA Championships in St. Louis, Missouri, set for March 18-20. 

Tournament Results 

125 -- Brandon Courtney (Champion)

Semifinals: Brandon Courtney (ASU) defeats Antonio Lorenzo (Cal Poly), Decision 9-3

Finals: Brandon Courtney (ASU) defeats Jackson Disario (Stanford), Decision 7-2

133 -- Michael McGee (3rd Place)

Semifinals: Chance Rich (UCSB) defeats Michael McGee (ASU), TB-1, 6-4

Cons Semifinals: Michael McGee (ASU) defeats Benny Martinez (Cal Poly), Tech Fall 17-1 

Third Place: Michael McGee (ASU) defeats Paul Bianchi (Little Rock), MD 12-3

141 – Julian Chlebove (6th Place)

Round 1: Julian Chlebove (ASU) defeats Conner Ward (Little Rock), Fall 1:03

Semifinals: Grant Willits (OSU) defeats Julian Chlebove (ASU), Decision 7-2

Cons Semifinals: Angelo Martinoni (UCSB) defeats Julian Chlebove (ASU), Fall

Fifth Place: Conner Ward (Little Rock) defeats Julian Chlebove (ASU), Fall 

149 – Cory Crooks (3rd Place)

Round 1: Cory Crooks (ASU) defeats Kalani Tonge (UCSB), Decision 10-7

Semifinals: Jaden Abas (Stanford) defeats Cory Crooks (ASU), Decision 7-4

Cons Semifinals: Cory Crooks (ASU) defeats Kyle Prewitt (Little Rock), Decision 7-4

Third Place: Cory Crooks (ASU) defeats Lane Stigall (OSU), Decision 7-2

157 – Jacori Teemer (Champion) 

Semifinals: Jacori Teemer (ASU) defeats Requir Van der Merwe (Stanford), Decision 7-5

Finals: Jacori Teemer (ASU) defeats Hunter Willits (OSU), Decision 9-4

165 – Anthony Valencia (Champion)

Semifinals: Anthony Valencia (ASU) defeats Matt Olguin (OSU), Decision 8-1

Finals: Anthony Valencia (ASU) defeats Shane Griffith (Stanford), Decision 7-1

174 – Trey Munoz (2nd Place)

Semifinals: Trey Munoz (ASU) defeats Albert Urias (UCSB), Fall (0:57)

Finals: Bernie Trauz (Cal Poly) defeats Trey Munoz (ASU), Decision 10-2

184 – Cade Belshay (3rd Place)

Semifinals: Dom Ducharme (UCSB) defeats Cade Belshay (ASU), Decision 3-2

Cons Semifinals: Cade Belshay (ASU) defeats Tanner Mendoza (Little Rock), MD 10-1

Third Place: Cade Belshay (ASU) defeats Dylan Miracle (Cal Poly), Fall 2:31

197 – Kordell Norfleet (Champion)

Semifinals: Kordell Norfleet (ASU) defeats Nick Stemmet (Stanford), Tech Fall 15-0

Finals: Kordell Norfleet (ASU) defeats J.J. Dixon (OSU), MD 16-4

285 – Cohlton Schultz (Champion)

Semifinals: Cohlton Schultz (ASU) defeats Jacob Sieder (UCSB), MD 12-4

Finals: Cohlton Schultz (ASU) defeats Nathan Traxler (Stanford), Decision 3-1