Skip to main content

Bruins Claim Nine Honors for 2020-21 MPSF Season

Mar 3, 2021
Mo Kenney is the second Bruin all-time to be named MPSF Newcomer of the Year.

MPSF Release

SOCIAL MEDIA: MWP on Twitter | MWP on Facebook | MWP on Instagram

WOODLAND, Calif. – A school-record-tying eight UCLA Bruins earned All-MPSF accolades as announced by the league office this afternoon. The eight Bruins were also the most by any school in 2020-21. UCLA also had eight student-athletes earn All-MPSF accolades in 2016. UCLA was led by senior attacker Nicolas Saveljic and junior attacker/utility Jake Cavano, who were both named to the first team for the first time in their careers.

Freshman attacker Mo Kenney was named the 2020-21 MPSF Newcomer of the Year. He is just the second Bruin all-time to earn that distinction, joining Garrett Danner from the 2013 season.

Four Bruins were named second team All-MPSF, which accounted for half of the selections in the league, and included sophomore attacker Tommy Gruwell, redshirt junior utility Evan Rosenfeld, sophomore goalkeeper Bernardo Maurizi, and Kenney.

Sophomore center Gabe Discipulo and senior attacker Chasen Travisano garnered honorable mention All-MPSF honors. It marked the first time in their careers that they have earned all-league recognition.

UCLA head coach Adam Wright has guided the Bruins to a 6-5 record (all against top five teams in the country) and a No. 2 seed at this week's MPSF Championship, hosted by the Bruins. Play will begin on Friday, March 5 at 9:00 a.m. PT with the 5/6 seed game between Penn State Behrend and Austin College. The Bruins have a bye to the semifinals where they will face the winner of the first quarterfinal between third-seeded Stanford and the team that is seeded sixth. The second semifinal involving the Bruins will take place on Saturday, March 6, at 2:00 p.m.

In other league award announcements, California's Kirk Everist was named MPSF Coach of the Year and the Golden Bears' sophomore center Nikolaos Papanikolaou was named MPSF Player of the Year.