Skip to main content

Arizona State Set for Pac-12 Cross Country Championships

Mar 4, 2021

Pac-12 release | Pac-12 Championships Page

TEMPE - The Pac-12 Cross Country Championships take place this Friday at Chambers Creek Park in University Place, Washington. Fifteen Sun Devils will be competing at this event. The action will start at 11:00 a.m. PT (noon MST) with the women's 6K, and that will be followed up with the mens 8K at 12:00 pm PT (1 p.m. MST). This event will be televised live on Pac-12 Networks and the live results can be seen here. Full information about the Pac-12 Cross Country Championships cam be found here.

Sun Devils Emily Gallegos-Francksen, Ava Shackell, Megan Reniewicki, Lena Lebrun, Bianca Tinoco, Caitlin Rose and Jenna Lee will all be running in the women's 6K, while the men's 8K will consist of Chris Keeley, Nick Shampoe, Fearghal Curtin,  Garrett McSheffrey, Dylan Kingston, Joseph Dicke, Adam Meyer and Vincent Mauri.
 
Fearghal Curtin looks to elevate his performance even more after his impressive second-place finish at the Arizona Invitational in Tucson on February 19th. Reniewicki, Lebrun and Schackell all finished within the top-10 at the same meet and look to carry that momentum with them to the championships. 

This is the first Pac-12 champion that ASU will compete in with recent hire Patrick Henner at the helm. In three years with USC, Henner helped almost every cross country runner set their personal bests in the 6K.  In his two seasons working with the distance athletes, runners Robert Ford and Isaiah Jewett won consecutive Pac-12 men's 800m titles, and he placed two male and female runners into USC's all-time top 10 in the event.
 
Keep up with the Sun Devil TFXC program on TwitterFacebook and Instagram.