Skip to main content

McDivitt Becomes Fourth Ute Diver To Qualify For NCAA Championships, Marks Most In A Single Season For Utah

Mar 9, 2021

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Luke McDivitt continued Utah diving's historic season at the NCAA Zone E Championships on Tuesday afternoon where he finished second overall on platform to earn a berth at the NCAA Championships. McDivitt joins Lizzy DeCecco, Emma Ruchala and Tony Chen, who qualified yesterday, to mark the most divers in school history to compete at the NCAA Championships in a single season.

"We had another really good day today and this team continues to amaze me," said head diving coach Richard Marschner. "This is the most difficult meet of the year to navigate and dive at, and our team is responding incredibly well to the challenge of diving against some great competition in a stressful meet. We now have four divers qualified for NCAAs, which is the most we've ever had in a single year, and our banner season continues."

McDivitt and Chase Hindmarsh competed on the platform where the duo finished third and 11th, respectively, in the prelims to start the day.

In the finals, McDivitt earned his bid after posting a score of 689.65 to finish as the runner-up. The qualification on platform marks the Lexington, S.C. native's second-consecutive year earning a bid to the NCAA Championships on platform. His second-place finish also qualified him for the 3m that he competed on yesterday and will join teammate Chen as an NCAA qualifier on the 3m.

Running concurrently was the women's 3-meter event where Utah saw Ruchala, DeCecco and Lexi Mills all advance to the finals. Ruchala led the three Utes and finished 10th overall with a score of 581.40 to earn a spot on the 3m at the NCAA Championships and add on to her 1m qualification yesterday. Just missing the cutoff was Mills, who finished in 13th place with a score of 561.00.

Utah will look to finish strong at the NCAA Zone E Championships tomorrow with the women competing on platform and the men on the 1-meter event. Both prelims will start at 11:30 a.m. MT, while the finals will begin at 12:50 p.m. MT.

Full results from today's action, as well as the entire week in Flagstaff can be found here. The NCAA Zone E Diving Championships will all be live streamed for free via NAU Swimming and Diving's Facebook page