Skip to main content

Abogidi named a Kyle Macy Award finalist

Mar 12, 2021

BOSTON - Excelling on both ends of the court in his first collegiate season, freshman Efe Abogidi was named a finalist for the Kyle Macy Award given annually to the top freshman in Division I college basketball as named by The winner will be announced April 1.

Abogidi, previously named to the Pac-12 All-Freshman team, finished his first season, barring possible postseason play, third on the team in scoring at 8.9 points per game doing his damage from all ranges. The Nigerian forward would finish the year with 15 three-pointers while also leading the Cougs at the line at an impressive 81.1%, a WSU freshman record. The 81.1% from the line not only shattered the WSU freshman record by nearly two-points, Abogidi became the first Coug freshman to shoot over 80.0% in a season from the line.

Outside of scoring, Abogidi led the way on the glass at 7.2 rebounds per game, a number which ranked fourth in the Pac-12 and inside the top-150 in the country. Defensively, the young big dominated inside grabbing nearly 5 defensive rebounds per game while blocking a WSU freshman record 1.3 shots per game. His 36 blocked shots ranked tied for second all-time in WSU freshman history while ranking fourth in the Pac-12 and 66th in the nation. He was able to put together his stellar season due to his durability as he was one of just two Cougars to play in and start all 27 games on the year.

The Kyle Macy Award was named for the guard who starred as a freshman for Purdue. The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University, averaging 13.8 points per game while leading the Boilermakers in free throws (85.9 percent for the season). He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record. After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.