Skip to main content

Four Beavers Advance to Day Two in St. Louis

Mar 18, 2021

Full Bracket (PDF)

ST. LOUIS, Mo. Four Oregon State wrestlers advanced to day two of the 2021 NCAA Wrestling Championships on Thursday at the Enterprise Center.
Devan Turner (133), Grant Willits (141), Hunter Willits (157), and Ryan Reyes (184) all went 1-1 on the first day of the championships to move on to the consolation second round.
After falling in a major decision to open his day, (16) Turner bounced back in match two with a 10-2 major decision over (32) Cole Rhone (BLOOM). Turner will open day two against 18th-seed Kyle Burwick from Wisconsin.
(12) Grant fell to a decision in his first match, but claimed a 4-0 decision against Minnesota's (28) Marcos Polanco to move on. He will face 11-seed Cody Trybus (Navy) in his opening match tomorrow.
In his first match of the tournament, (13) Hunter earned an 11-5 decision against (20) Cody Bond (APP). He fell in his second match, a 4-2 decision to (4) Jesse Dellavecchia (RID). It will be Grant versus Army's Markus Hartman (30-seed) in the second round of the consolation bracket.
Following a tech fall in his opening match, (25) Reyes closed out his first day of the NCAA Championships in a match up with (15) Layne Malczewski (MSU) where he walked away with a 9-5 decision. Reyes will face 17-seed Owen Webster (MINN) to open the second day of competition.
Day two action will begin tomorrow morning at 8 am (PT) on ESPNU.
Results (Day One):
125: Brandon Kaylor (0-2)
Championship Rd. One – (5) Brody Teske (UNI) fall (28) Brandon Kaylor (OSU), 2:40
Consolation Rd. One – (21) Trevor Mastrogiovanni (OKST) major decision (28) Brandon Kaylor (OSU), 10-0
133: Devan Turner (1-1)
Championship Rd. One – (17) Malyke Hines (LEH) major decision (16) Devan Turner (OSU), 8-0
Consolation Rd. One – (16) Devan Turner major decision (32) Cole Rhone (BLOOM), 10-2
141: Grant Willits (1-1)
Championship Rd. One – (21) Real Woods (STAN) decision (12) Grant Willits (OSU), 6-3
Consolation Rd. One – (12) Grant Willits (OSU) decision (28) Marcos Polanco (MINN), 5-0
157: Hunter Willits (1-1)
Championship Rd. One – (13) Hunter Willits (OSU) decision (20) Cody Bond (APP), 11-5
Championship Rd. Two – (4) Jesse Dellavecchia (RID) decision (13) Hunter Willits (OSU), 4-2
184: Ryan Reyes (1-1)
Championship Rd. One – (2) Tent Hidlay (NCST) tech. fall (31) Ryan Reyes (OSU), 17-2
Consolation Rd. One – (31) Ryan Reyes (OSU) decision (15) Layne Malczewski (MSU), 9-5
197: J.J. Dixon (0-2)
Championship Round One – (8) Stephen Buchanan (WYO) fall (25) J.J. Dixon (OSU), 3:34
Consolation Round One – (24) Benjamin Smith (CSU) major decision (25) J.J. Dixon (OSU), 12-4
Follow Us On Social
For more information on the Oregon State wrestling team, follow the club's official Twitter account at, by Facebook at or on Instagram at

Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).