Skip to main content

Savanna Ly-Nguyen Named 2021 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar

Mar 19, 2021

FAIRFAX, Va.  – Washington State junior tennis student-athlete Savanna Ly-Nguyen has been named one of 10 female student-athletes nationally selected as 2021 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars it was announced earlier this week by Diverse: Issues In Higher Education.
The honor recognizes outstanding minority young men and women who have distinguished themselves in their academic and athletic pursuits.
Midway through her 2021 tennis season, Ly-Nguyen has posted a team-leading 11-1 singles record for the Cougars. She carries a 3.95 grade point average as a neuroscience major while also being a member of the President's Honor Roll at WSU, two-time selection for the ITA Academic Achievement Award and being named to the 2020 Pac-12 Spring Academic Honor Roll.
Ly-Nguyen has volunteered her time at WSU Athletics community service projects, helping at free tennis clinics for local residents and pre-pandemic, volunteering at Circles of Caring, a unique day program in Pullman that provides a safe, caring and nurturing atmosphere for adults and elders.
In addition to their athletic ability, the students named 2021 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars are students of color who have maintained a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5, are at least a sophomore academically, and have been active on their campuses or in their communities.
The top women (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Riley Agerbeek, San José State University, Water Polo     
  • Jessica Drop, University of Georgia, Track/Cross Country     
  • Lena Greene, Oregon State University, Gymnastics     
  • Touri Holmes, Morgan State University, Bowling     
  • Olivia Johnson, Southern Wesleyan University, Volleyball    
  • Alisha Lau, University of Colorado Boulder, Golf     
  • Savanna Ly-Nguyen, Washington State University, Tennis     
  • Macy Somoskey, University of Mississippi, Golf     
  • Chanel Thomas, University of Mississippi, Soccer     
  • Mariah White, Cleveland State University, Basketball     

The top men (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Samuel Cudjoe, Saint Augustine's University, Golf     
  • Daniel Do, Stockton University, Track/Cross Country     
  • Kamaka Hepa, The University of Texas at Austin, Basketball         
  • D'Eriq King, University of Miami, Football        
  • Paolo Marciano, Adelphi University, Soccer         
  • Adrian Martinez, University of Nebraska Lincoln, Football        
  • Andre Mintze, Vanderbilt University, Football        
  • Shea Pitts, UCLA, Football        
  • Jeronimo Valdepena, California State University, San Bernardino, Soccer        
  • Tyler Williams, California State University, San Bernardino, Baseball                    

Of the close to 1,000 scholar athletes nominated, one male and one female athlete will be selected as Sports Scholar of the Year. That announcement will take place prior to April 29, 2021, when Diverse: Issues In Higher Education will publish its annual Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars special report edition.