Skip to main content

NCAA Announces Regional Championships Field

Mar 22, 2021

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The 2021 National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships regional selections were revealed Monday by the NCAA selection committee.
Joining No. 24 Oregon State (196.419 NQS) at the Athens Regional will be No. 1 Florida (197.944), No. 8 Minnesota (197.431), No. 8 Denver (197.344), No. 16 Illinois (196.863), No. 18 Georgia (196.781), No. 25 Central Michigan (196.275), No. 26 NC State (196.250), No. 35 Western Michigan (195.769).
The top 36 teams based on national qualifying score (NQS) were selected for regional competition. The committee named the top 16 teams and seeded them in a bracket. Seeding determined at the time of selections will be maintained through the championship. Teams 17-36 were placed geographically at one of the four regional sites. Nine teams will compete at each of the four regional sites. 
The committee also selected the top 12 all-around competitors and top 16 event specialists based on NQS and placed them geographically into one of the four regional sites, keeping individuals from the same team together. The list of all-arounders and individual event specialists included individual qualifying scores from the teams competing in the first round to ensure those individuals will compete in the individual competition, regardless of whether their teams advance from the first round. 
Individual all-around qualifiers for the 2021 NCAA Athens Regional Championships are: Emily Shepard (NC State), Elizabeth Culton (North Carolina), and Payton Murphy (Western Michigan).
Individual event at-large qualifiers are: Vault - Anika Dujakovich (Nebraska) and Chloe Negrete (NC State); Uneven Bars - Kynsee Robey (Nebraska), Katelyn Cox (NC State), Kinsey Davis (Nebraska), and Meredith Robinson (NC State); Balance Beam - Kynsee Roby (Nebraska), Kathryn Thaler (Nebraska), Kaitlyn Higgins (Nebraska), and Chloe Negrete (NC State); Floor Exercise - Chloe Negrete (NC State), Kylie Piringer (Nebraska), and Isabel Goyco (Texas Women's).
The regional round of competition will begin with a dual meet on Thursday, April 1, with the winner advancing. At the Athens Regional Championships, NC State and Western Michigan will compete at 12 p.m. in order to advance to Friday's meets.
Friday's second round consists of two quad meets slated for Friday, April 2, at 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.. Eighth-seed Minnesota, ninth-seed Denver, Georgia, and Oregon State will compete in the afternoon session while first-seed Florida, 16th-seed Illinois, Central Michigan, and the winner from Thursday's opening round will compete in the evening. The two top finishing teams from each of the second round sessions will advance to the Regional Finals, Saturday, April 3 at 4 p.m.
The top two teams and the top all-around competitor (who is not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships. In addition, the top event specialist at each regional site, who is not part of an advancing team or an all-around competitor, will advance to the national championships in the event only.
The national championships will take place April 16-17 in Fort Worth, Texas at Dickies Arena.
For more information on the Oregon State gymnastics team, follow the club's official Twitter account at, by Facebook at or on Instagram at
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).