Skip to main content

Men's Golf Wins The Goodwin

Mar 27, 2021

The Sun Devil men's golf team held off host Stanford Saturday to win The Goodwin for just the second time in ASU history and for the first time since 1994.
Playing in their seventh spring tournament due to no fall competition, ASU got good rounds from everyone at over the weekend and had all five players contending for a counting score in the final round. With Stanford not going away and staying within four strokes down the stretch, the Sun Devils played the final four holes at 5-under with six birdies and just one bogey to win the 28-team tournament.
Stanford Golf Course (par-70/6,742 yards) played tough, as the 146-player field saw only two teams finish under par. The Sun Devils shot a 7-under 273 in the second round to take a five-shot cushion heading into Saturday and then posted the third-best team round (6-under 274) to finish at 15-under 825, eight shots better than Stanford (7-under 833).

Ryggs Johnston (69-69-67=205/-5) had four birdies in a six-hole stretch on Saturday and finished tied for seventh. He had birdies on No. 16 and No. 18 Saturday to help seal the win. He posted 15 birdies in the tournament, tied for second-most.


Senior Chun An Yu shot his best round of the year Friday with a bogey-free 65 (71-65-69=205/-5) and fought back from two bogeys in his first three holes Saturday. He posted four birdies in the final nine holes and also tied for seventh.
David Puig (70-70-68=208/-2) shot par for the first two days -- aided by an eagle on the par-5 No. 7 (539 yards) – and then finished strong and tied for 11th. He played the par-4 holes in 3-under, tied for third-best in the tournament.
Mason Andersen tied for 24th with a 2-over 212 (70-69-73=212), his flurry of birdies in round to at the end led ASU to taking the lead. He birdied five of six holes midway through his second round that helped ASU earn a five-stroke lead heading into Saturday.
Junior Cameron Sisk (69-73-70) also finished at 2-over 212 and tied for 24th, and his solid finish was big to help put Stanford away. He was 2-over through three holes and 2-over again through 15, but like Johnston birdied No. 16 and No. 18 to post 70, the first score on the board for the Sun Devils.

ASU will next play in the Augusta Haskins April 3-4 before hosting its ASU/Thunderbird Collegiate April 16-17.

64/-7, Ryggs Johnston (Valspar Invitational second round/March 15)
64/-7, David Puig (The Prestige first round/Feb. 15)
65/-5, Chun An Yu (The Goodwin second round/March 26)
66/-6, David Puig (Southwestern Invitational second round/Jan. 26)
67/-3, Ryggs Johnston (The Goodwin third round/March 27)
67/-5, David Puig (Amer Ari Intercollegiate first round/Feb. 2)
67/-5, Cameron Sisk (Amer Ari Intercollegiate first round/Feb. 2)


SUN DEVIL HISTORY AT THE EVENT: Billy Mayfair won the 1987 title, with Todd Demsey and the team following it seven years later by both winning titles in 1994, and then Pat Moore won the 2005 title, as it was then called the U.S. Intercollegiate.

ABOUT THE EVENT: The event began in 1968 and has been held every year except for three - 1981, 2011 and 2020. The Cardinal was joined by a strong field of 27 other teams: Arizona State, TCU, Nevada, Denver, Colorado, San Diego, Georgia Tech, Washington State, Cal Baptist, USC, SMU, Long Beach, FAU, Cal, Minnesota, BYU, St. Mary's, Pacific, UC Davis, Cal Poly, Santa Clara, Northwestern, Washington, Oregon, San Jose State, UCLA and Pepperdine. Stanford had won the event 16 times (2019, 2017, 2014, 2013, 2007, 1995, 1989, 1980, 1970-75 and 1968.

39-Jon Rahm (2012-16)
26-Alex del Rey (2016-20)
20-Max Rottluff (2012-16)
20-Mason Andersen (2017-21)

No. 7 (539 yards), par-5 at The Goodwin (First Round/Mar. 25)
No. 15 (535 yards), par-5 at Valspar Collegiate (Third Round/Mar. 16)
No. 15 (535 yards), par-5 at Valspar Collegiate (Second Round/Mar. 15)
No. 13 (530 yards), par-5 at Valspar Collegiate (First Round/Mar. 15)
No. 2 (550 yards), par-5 at Cabo Collegiate at TPC San Antonio (First Round/Mar. 1)

BUSY DUDES: The Goodwin was the seventh competition for the Sun Devils this spring after playing none in the fall. The Sun Devil will now play at Augusta Haskins (April 3-4 in Augusta, GA), host its Thunderbird Collegiate (April 16-17), travel to the Pac-12 Championships in Santa Rosa, CA (April 26-28), NCAA Regionals (site TBD May 17-19) and the NCAA Championships (May 28-June 2 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale). How does a possible 12 events in the spring match up? Check out recent past years how many events were played in the fall and spring by the Sun Devils.

2020-21: 0 fall/7 spring
2019-20: 4 fall/4 spring (canceled)
2018-19: 4 fall/9 spring
2017-18: 4 fall/9 spring
2016-17: 4 fall/9 spring
2015-16: 4 fall/9 spring
2014-15: 4 fall/10 spring
2013-14: 5 fall/8 spring
2012-13: 5 fall/10 spring
2011-12: 4 fall/10 spring



PAR 70/6,727 YARDS
MARCH 25-27, 2021

Arizona State 278-273-274=825/-15
Stanford 275-281-277=833/-7
Pepperdine 282-285-275=842/+2
Washington 281-286-278=845/+5
St. Mary's 285-282-280=847/+7
Nevada 284-287-277=848/+8
SMU 288-283-279=850/+10
Oregon 283-296-272=851/+11
Georgia Tech 290-291-273=854/+14
San Diego 279-293-287=859/+19
Colorado 296-278-288=862/+22
Denver 279-291-292=862/+22
Northwestern 293-283-288=864/+24
Washington State 280-298-286=864/+24
USC 287-291-286=864/+24
UCLA 292-285-288=865/+25
Florida Atlantic 291-284-291=866/+26
Santa Clara 291-284-293=868/+28
BYU 290-292-289=872/+32
TCU 294-293-292=879/+39
California 297-299-284=880/+40
San Jose State 290-298-295=883/+43
Long Beach 299-298-287=884/+44
Minnesota 300-284-301=885/+45
UC Davis 301-293-294=888/+48
Cal Poly 292-308-288=888/+48
Pacific 297-303-299=899/+59
Cal Baptist 312-308-294=914/+74

T1. Sam Haned, Nevada 63-70-67=200/-10
T1. Blake Hathcoat, St. Mary's 63-69-68=200/-10
3. Tom Gueant, Oregon 69-70-62=201/-9
T4. Kaito Onish, USC 68-69-66=203/-7
T4. Noah Goodwin, SMU 67-66-70=203/-7
T7. Ryggs Johnston 69-69-67=205/-5
T7. Chun An Yu 71-65-69=205/-5
T11. David Puig 70-70-68=208/-2
T24. Mason Andersen 70-69-73=212/+2
T24. Cameron Sisk 69-73-70=212/+2