Skip to main content

Naismith Coach of the Year

Apr 2, 2021

SAN ANTONIO - For the third time in her career, Tara VanDerveer has been named the Werner Ladder Naismith Coach of the Year, announced Friday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. VanDerveer also won the award in 2011 and 1990.

Facing unparalleled adversity, VanDerveer has led the Cardinal to unparalleled success this season. Also named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the 16th time this year, VanDerveer manned the ship through unfathomable circumstances en route to Stanford's 24th all-time Pac-12 regular season championship, but first since 2014, along with a 14th Pac-12 Tournament title, a No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, and a trip to the Final Four.  

The 2020-21 season will undoubtedly be one to remember for VanDerveer, not only for having to maneuver through the challenges of the season including nine weeks on the road and constant discipline and vigilance to adhere to COVID-19 safety protocols, but also for a monumental record-breaking accomplishment, becoming the all-time winningest coach in women's college basketball history. VanDerveer now boasts an all-time record of 1,123-255, including 971-204 at Stanford.

The Cardinal play tonight, Friday April 2, against South Carolina in the national semifinals.