Skip to main content

Huskies Dancing With No. 6 National Seed

Apr 4, 2021

SEATTLE – Pac-12 Champion Washington was awarded the No. 6 overall seed for the 2020 NCAA Volleyball Championships it was announced during today's NCAA Selection Show. All roads lead to Omaha, the only difference is how long teams remain, as this year every match of the championships will be held at the CHI Health Center Omaha Convention Center and Arena in Nebraska.
The tournament, moved from December of 2020 to April but still referred to as the 2020 Championships, will begin with first round action on Apr. 14, however the Huskies will wait one more day, as the top 16 seeded teams all receive first round byes. This year the tournament field size was reduced from 64 to 48 teams.
Washington (17-3) will be watching closely during the first round match between Dayton (13-1) and Towson (6-0) as the Huskies will take on the winner of that match on Thursday, Apr. 15, at 12:30 p.m. Pacific time.
The first and second round matches will all be streamed live via ESPN3.

Following the second round, the regional semifinals will be held on Apr. 18, the regional finals on Apr. 19, and then the Final Four will take place on Apr. 22 with the championship match on Apr. 24.
This will be Washington's 19th-consecutive NCAA tournament appearance, which is now the fifth-longest active streak in the NCAA and the longest in the Pac-12. Penn State has now made all 40 tournament fields, with Nebraska next at 39. Florida is third with 30 and Hawaii has made 27 in a row, although the Rainbow Wahine are not in this year's field as their league canceled the season due to Covid-19. Washington is next on the list at 19, followed by Texas with 17-straight and Kentucky with 16-straight.
The Huskies on Saturday clinched the Pac-12 title for the sixth time in program history, and the third time under sixth-year Head Coach Keegan Cook. In the most recent tournament, in December of 2019, the Huskies advanced to the Elite Eight before falling at No. 1 Baylor.
The Pac-12 had the second-most NCAA tourney qualifiers with five, behind the six from the Big Ten. Along with the No. 6 Huskies, Oregon earned the No. 10 seed, Utah was seeded No. 14, and Washington State was seeded 15th, with UCLA earning an at-large bid as well.
Wisconsin earned the No. 1 overall seed followed by No. 2 Kentucky, No. 3 Minnesota, No. 4 Texas, No. 5 Nebraska, and Washington at No. 6, with No. 7 Purdue and No. 8 Florida rounding out the top eight seeds.
2020 NCAA Volleyball Championship – Omaha, Neb.
Opening Rounds Quadrant
First Round, Apr. 14
(6) Washington, bye
Towson vs. Dayton, 12:30pm PT | ESPN3
Second Round, Apr. 15
(6) Washington vs. Towson/Dayton winner, 12:30pm PT | ESPN3