Skip to main content

ASU to Host MPSF Water Polo Championship April 30-May 2

Apr 5, 2021

The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation has announced that Arizona State will host the water polo MPSF conference championship tournament at Mona Plummer Aquatic Center in Tempe at the end of April and early part of May, after initially scheduling the conference tournament to be held in California.

The tournament will take place from Friday, April 30 to Sunday, May 2, and will feature three games each day. Tickets will be sold to the public after the allotted player tickets have been reserved, and the games will also be viewable with a subscription to MPSF TV here:

The conference teams Arizona State will be hosting are University of California Berkeley, Indiana, San Jose State, Stanford, University of California, Los Angeles, and the University of Southern California.The MPSF conference is one of the strongest in the league, with five teams ranked in the top six of the Collegiate Water Polo Association varsity polls. 

Full tournament schedule:

Friday, April 30
Game 1---#2 vs. #7---9:00 a.m.          
Game 2---#3 vs. #6---11:30 p.m.            
Game 3--- #4 vs. #5---2:00 p.m.         
Bye – #1 seed                                              

Saturday, May 1

Game 4---Losers Games 1 & 2---9:00 a.m.
Game 5---Winners Games 1 & 2---11:30 p.m. (Semifinal)
Game 6---#1 vs. Winner Game 3---2:00 p.m. (Semifinal)
Bye – Loser of Game 3 

Sunday, May 2

Game 7---Loser Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4---9:00 a.m. (5th-Place)
Game 8---Losers Games 5 & 6 ---11:30 a.m. (3rd-Place)
Game 9---Winners Games 5 & 6---2:00 p.m. (Championship)