Skip to main content

Cal Sweeps Pac-12 Swimming Awards

Apr 5, 2021
Left to right: Ryan Hoffer, David Durden & Destin Lasco swept the 2021 Pac-12 men's swimming postseason awards.

SAN FRANCISCO – California swept the Pac-12 Conference's 2021 postseason men's swimming awards Monday following an impressive season that culminated with a runner-up finish at the NCAA Championships and the Golden Bears' fourth consecutive conference team title.
Ryan Hoffer repeated as the Pac-12 Men's Swimmer of the Year, Destin Lasco earned Men's Freshman Swimmer of the Year honors and David Durden was named the Men's Swimming Coach of the Year for the 10th time in his 14-year tenure at Cal's helm.
The Cal trio became just the fourth group to sweep the Pac-12 men's swimming postseason honors since the conference introduced the freshman/newcomer of the year award in 2000. Cal accomplished the feat twice before in 2019 (Andrew Seliskar, swimmer; Reece Whitley, newcomer; Durden, coach) and 2016 (Ryan Murphy, swimmer; Seliskar, newcomer; Durden, coach) while Stanford won all three awards in 2004.
Hoffer, the 2020 award recipient, joins Cal greats Nathan Adrian and Ryan Murphy as the only Bears to be named the Pac-12 Men's Swimmer of the Year multiple times. After being recognized as the Swimmer of the Meet at the Pac-12 Championships with seven conference titles – three individual, four relay – in Houston on Feb. 28-March 3, Hoffer capped his senior season with an individual sweep at the NCAA Championships, winning titles in the 50-yard freestyle, 100 free and 100 fly. He also swam on Cal's NCAA-title-winning 200 free relay and 400 free relay squads.
Lasco earned All-America status in six events at the NCAA Championships, most notably in the 200 back with his 1:35.99 runner-up finish that made him the third-fastest ever in the event. The Linwood, New Jersey, native also placed third in the 100 back and 200 IM while swimming the third leg of Cal's NCAA-title-winning 400 free relay. At the start of March, Lasco became the first swimmer to sweep the backstroke events at the Pac-12 Championships since Ryan Murphy in 2017.
Orchestrating yet another outstanding year in the pool by the Bears was Durden, who earned Pac-12 Men's Swimming Coach of the Year honors for the 10th time overall and fourth straight year. Cal finished in the top-two at the NCAA Championships for the 11th straight meet since 2010, scoring the most points ever by a runner-up at the national meet (568). The Bears also won 17 of 18 swimming events at the Pac-12 Championships.
Cal's Pac-8/10/12 Men's Swimmers of the Year (13)
1987 » Matt Biondi
1996 » Ugur Taner
2002 » Anthony Ervin
2005 » Duje Draganja
2009 » Nathan Adrian
2011 » Nathan Adrian
2012 » Tom Shields
2015 » Ryan Murphy
2016 » Ryan Murphy
2017 » Ryan Murphy
2019 » Andrew Seliskar
2020 » Ryan Hoffer
2021 » Ryan Hoffer
Cal's Pac-8/10/12 Men's Swimming Coaches of the Year (14)
1978 » Nort Thornton
1979 » Nort Thornton
1980 » Nort Thornton
1999 » Nort Thornton
2010 » David Durden
2011 » David Durden
2012 » David Durden
2013 » David Durden
2014 » David Durden
2016 » David Durden
2018 » David Durden
2019 » David Durden
2020 » David Durden
2021 » David Durden
Cal's Pac-10/12 Freshman/Newcomers of the Year (9)
2000 » Anthony Ervin
2002 » Duje Draganja
2005 » Dominik Meichtry
2010 » Tom Shields
2013 » Josh Prenot
2014 » Ryan Murphy
2016 » Andrew Seliskar
2019 » Reece Whitley
2021 » Destin Lasco
For complete coverage of Cal men's swimming and diving, please follow the Bears on Twitter (@CalMenSwim), Instagram (@CalMenSwim) and Facebook (