Skip to main content

Men's Golf Hosts 48th Thunderbird Collegiate April 16-17 at Papago Golf Club

Apr 6, 2021
Jon Rahm won three Thunderbird Collegiate titles at ASU, including this one in 2015.

The Sun Devil men's golf program will host its 48th Thunderbird Collegiate on April 16-17, 2021, at Papago Golf Course (par 70/7,319 yards). The 16 participating schools will play 36 holes on Friday and 18 on Saturday. ASU has won the past three Thunderbird Collegiate titles including the last outing in 2019 as Chun An Yu earned medalist honors.

GOOD AT THIS: ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 20 times, which it has hosted since 1973. ASU has won 12 of the past 21 (1999-2001, 2003-04, 2008-09, 2014-15, 2017-19

THE 17-TEAM FIELD: ASU will be joined by Pac-12 members Arizona, Oregon State, UCLA and Utah at the Thunderbird. Baylor, Colorado State, Iowa State, Long Beach State, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio State, Oklahoma State, South Florida, Texas Tech, TCU and UNLV complete the field.

COURSE: The tournament takes place at Papago Golf Club (par 70/7,319) and will be tee times starting at 7 a.m. Friday and 6:54 a.m. Saturday.

PAST ASU INDIVIDUAL WINNERS: Eleven Sun Devils have won the individual titles on 14 occasions, with Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992) and Jon Rahm (2014, 2015 and 2016) the only multiple winners. Other Sun Devil individual winners include Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (2000), Paul Casey (2001), Alejandro Canizares (2003), Stephan Gross (2009/shared) and 2019winner Chun An Yu.


2019: Arizona State 832 (-20)/Chun An Yu, ASU (201/-12)
2015: Arizona State 815 (-25)/Jon Rahm, ASU (195/-15)
2014: Arizona State 817 (-35)/Jon Rahm, ASU (192/-21)
2009: Arizona State 838 (-14)/Stephan Gross, ASU; Steve Saunders, UNM (210/-3)
2004: Arizona State 821 (-43)/Alejandro Canizares, ASU (200/-16)
2000: Arizona State 846 (-18)/Paul Casey, ASU (207/-9)
1999: Arizona State 834 (-30)/Jeff Quinney, ASU (201/-15)
1994: Arizona State 859 (-5)/Larry Barber, ASU (205/-11)
1992: Arizona State 854 (-10)/Phil Mickelson, ASU (209/-7)
1991: Arizona State 840 (-24)/Phil Mickelson, ASU (204/-12)
1984: Arizona State/Jim Carter, ASU

2018: Arizona State 830 (-22)/Shintaro Ban, UNLV and Yannik Paul, Colorado (202/-11) 
2017: Arizona State 811 (-41)/Collin Morikawa, California (200/-13)
2008: Arizona State 843 (-9)/Espen Kofstad, Denver (210/-3)
2003: Arizona State 824 (-40)/David Schultz, TCU (201/-15)
2001: Arizona State 839 (-25)/Anders Hultman, Oklahoma State (206/-10)
1997: Arizona State 854 (-10)/Jeff Mixon, Oklahoma (209/-7)
1996: Arizona State 864 (E)/Lonnie Damon, BYU (214/-2)
1990: Arizona State 846 (-18)/Ramon Brobio, BYU (209/-7)
1989: Arizona State 864 (E)/Aaron Bengoechea, Pacific (202/-14)

2016: Iowa State 832 (-20) (ASU 5th)/Jon Rahm, ASU (198/-15)
1995: Arkansas 867 (+3) (ASU 2nd)/Todd Demsey, ASU (213/-3)

ABOUT OUR SENIORS: The men's golf program has a long list of graduates and academic honors and three of its current members are a part of it. Mason Andersen is scheduled to graduate with a BS in economics in August of 2021 and has a 3.06 cumulative GPA. He was a Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar in 2020, has made the Dean's List (3.50 GPA) twice and earned Sun Devil scholar-athlete honors (3.0 GPA+ in a semester) six times. Blake Wagoner earned his BA in interdisciplinary studies -- magna cum laude may we add -- with concentrations in business and communications in May of 2020 and has a 3.64 cumulative GPA and is earning his MGM in global management. He earned Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar 2020 and 2019, the Pac-12 All-Academic Honor Roll in spring of 2020, Dean's List on six occasions and is a nine-time Sun Devil Scholar-Athlete. Chun An Yu will earn his BA in liberal studies in May of 2021 with a cumulative GPA of 3.19 with three appearances on the Dean's List and is a five-time Sun Devil Scholar-Athlete.