Skip to main content

Five Pac-12 Women's Soccer programs earn bids to 2020 NCAA Championship

Apr 19, 2021

2020 NCAA Women's Soccer Tournament bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - Five Pac-12 Women’s Soccer teams earned bids to the 39th annual NCAA Division I Championship, making the 48-team field revealed by the NCAA Selection Committee on Monday morning. Four at-large programs joined regular-season Pac-12 champion UCLA, which secured the Conference’s automatic bid with a 9-1-1 league mark. 

The Bruins (12-1-2) enter the NCAA tournament as the No. 3 overall seed, and will face the winner of a first-round matchup between Iowa and Campbell.

For the seventh straight season, USC (7-3-3) clinched a postseason bid, earning the No. 8 overall seed and drawing the winner of Bowling Green and Ole Miss in the second round. 

ARIZONA STATE (8-5-2), COLORADO (9-5-2) and WASHINGTON (9-3-3) will all play in the first round of the tournament, with the Sun Devils taking on Siena, the Buffaloes facing South Alabama and the Huskies matching up against Liberty. 

The Pac-12, ACC and SEC led all conferences with five teams earning selections from each league. The Pac-12 has won six all-time NCAA national championships, including five in the last nine with STANFORD emerging with the crown from three Pac-12 entries (UCLA, WASHINGTON STATE) in the most recent 2019 College Cup.

This year’s tournament will be held in Cary, N.C., and the surrounding areas, with games taking place across seven different venues. First-round action will kick off April 27-28, with second-round matchups on April 30-May 1. Third-round action will take place on May 5, with the quarterfinals on May 9. 

The women’s semifinals will be held May 13, and the championship game will be played May 17 at Sahlen’s Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary. All games through the quarterfinals will be available on, with the women’s semifinals broadcast live on ESPN2. The final will be broadcast live on ESPNU.