Skip to main content

Five Bears Earn Postseason Honors

Apr 21, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO - California women's soccer collected five spots in the All-Pac-12 postseason honors, the conference announced on Wednesday. The individual awards and the All-Pac-12 Women's Soccer Team are selected by the Pac-12 head coaches. 

"We are pleased to see our players being recognized for their efforts," said head coach Neil Mcguire. "There are so many talented players in this amazing conference and to be selected is a great honor. Each of them had an impressive season and played to a very high standard. They would be the first to say they couldn't do it without their teammates and the work they did for one another." 

Maya Evans and Amaya Gray earned All-Freshman Team recognition for the Golden Bears. Evans, a defender, played the fifth-most minutes amongst the team and assisted the Cal backline in four shutouts this season. She also contributed to the Bears' attack with two shots-on-goal and her first career assist on a lob pass to Emma Westin that resulted in the lone Cal goal against Washington.

Freshman forward Amaya Gray was a key playmaker in the Bears' attack whose crosses provided plenty of opportunity in the box. Gray scored the golden goal in Cal's double-overtime win against then No. 16 Arizona State in addition to two shots-on-goal. 

Cal goalkeeper Angelina Anderson earned the All-Pac-12 second team nod after making 67 saves to stand second in the conference in total saves. Anderson's goalkeeping played a critical role in the Bears' win against Stanford on the Farm after gathering an impressive nine saves. Against Arizona State, Anderson faced 20 shots and tallied 10 saves in the double-overtime win. 

Emily Smith and Emma Westin were rewarded with All-Pac-12 third team honors, despite both players missing a handful of games this season due to injury. Smith's staunch tackling skills protected the Cal defensive third and caught the eyes of Racing Louisville FC in the 2021 NWSL Draft. Emma Westin appeared in only nine games this season, but still led the Bears in goals (3), assists (3), and points (9). Westin scored the equalizer in the Bears' win against Oregon State along with the a solo game winner against Oregon. 

All-Freshman - Maya Evans
All-Freshman - Amaya Gray
Second Team - Angelina Anderson
Third Team - Emily Smith
Third Team - Emma Westin 

Keep up-to-date on the Golden Bears throughout the year by following the team on Twitter (@CalWSoc), Instagram (@CalWSoc), and Facebook (

Forward of the Year: Penelope Hocking, USC
Midfielder of the Year: Delanie Sheehan, UCLA
Defender of the Year: Kiki Pickett, Stanford
Goalkeeper of the Year: Lauren Brzykcy, UCLA
Freshman of the Year: Reilyn Turner, UCLA
Coach of the Year: Amanda Cromwell, UCLA


All-Freshman Team: 
Reilyn Turner, UCLA
Croix Bethune, USC
Leah Freeman, Oregon
Samantha Williams, Stanford
Shyra James, Colorado
Sunshine Fontes, UCLA
Maya Evans, California
Jazmine Wilkinson, Arizona State
Amaya Gray, California
Amy Sayer, Stanford
Taliana Kaufusi, Utah
Kaila Novak, UCLA


All-Conference First-Team
Penelope Hocking, USC
Mia Fishel, UCLA
Tara McKeown, USC
Delanie Sheehan, UCLA
Summer Yates, Washington
Croix Bethune, USC
Kiki Pickett, Stanford
Karina Rodriguez, UCLA
Hannah Sharts, Colorado
Lauren Brzykcy, UCLA
Reilyn Turner, UCLA
Ameera Hussen, Washington


All-Conference Second-Team
Jada Talley, Arizona
Nicole Douglas, Arizona State
Jill Aguilera, Arizona
Maya Doms, Stanford
Savannah DeMelo, USC
Makamae Gomera-Stevens, Washington State
Sydney Studer, Oregon State
Samantha Bruder, USC
Kaylene Pang, Washington
Angelina Anderson, California
Lieske Carleer, Arizona State
Alexia Delgado, Arizona State 
Marley Canales, UCLA


All-Conference Third-Team

Civana Kuhlmann, Stanford
Emma Westin, California
Elyse Bennett, Washington State
Belle Briede, Stanford
Zoe Hasenauer, Oregon
Shanade Hopcroft, Colorado
Emily Smith, California
Croix Soto, Oregon
Olivia Van der Jagt, Washington
Dani Hansen, Colorado
Mykiaa Minniss, Washington State
Kaylie Collins, USC
Leah Freeman, Oregon