Skip to main content

No. 33 WTennis Seeded Fourth in Pac-12 Tournament

Apr 21, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO - Post season play for No. 33 Arizona State officially opens on Saturday! Fourth-seeded ASU has earned a first-round bye and officially opens the Pac-12 Women's Tennis Championship Saturday at 9 a.m. against five-seed No. 36 USC (11-9, 5-5 Pac-12). The Tournament runs April 23-26 at the Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, Calif. No public attendance is permitted at the championships.
The Sun Devils went 13-7 (6-3 Pac-12) in the regular season, ending the year with three-straight 4-0 victories. Their conference wins came against Oregon, Washington State, Washington, Utah, Colorado and Arizona.
ASU's lineup features freshman phenom Marianna Argyrokastriti who ended the regular season with team-best 12-5 singles and 14-5 doubles records. Playing alongside senior Sammi Hampton, the duo went a perfect 9-0 in the three spot before moving up to No. 2 doubles. Argyrokastriti dominated at No. 5 singles where she went 9-4.
The Sun Devils are also bringing 2019 Doubles Team of the Year and two-time All-Americans Ilze Hattingh and Lauryn John-Baptiste. The tanden went 8-6 this season and ended the season on a three-match winning streak.
USC has a firm grasp on the all-time series with a 21-8 record against ASU. ASU came out on top against USC twice in April 2018, the first in seven years prior. In the programs' last meeting on April 3, USC won 5-2, with Arizona State taking the doubles point at No. 1 and 2, and the No. 6 singles slot thanks to Cali Jankowski.
Pac-12 Tournament team seeding is based on won-lost percentages during regular-season Conference play with the initial tiebreaker being the head-to-head matchup winner and second tiebreak the latest ITA team rankings. The 11 teams will compete in a tournament team format to determine the Pac-12 Champion and the automatic qualifier for the NCAA Championships.
The women's finals will air live on Pac-12 Network beginning at 12 p.m. PT on Monday, April 26. All televised matches will also be available to stream on the Pac-12 Now app. Scores and updates can be found at
The Pac-12's full release and bracket can be read here.
Pac-12 Championship Seedings (ASU regular-season result)

  1. UCLA (L, 4-3)
  2. Stanford (L, 4-1)
  3. California (L, 6-1)
  4. Arizona State
  5. USC (L, 5-2)
  6. Oregon (W, 4-0)
  7. Washington (W, 5-2)
  8. Washington State (W, 6-1)
  9. Colorado (W, 4-0)
  10. Arizona (W, 4-0)
  11. Utah (W, 4-0)