Skip to main content

Stanford's McClure named Pac-12 Women’s Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Apr 26, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO – STANFORD’s Meghan McClure has been named the Pac-12 Women’s Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2020 season, which was contested during the spring of 2021. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A science, technology and society major with a 4.04 GPA, McClure is a two-time NCAA champion (2018, 2019) and three-time Pac-12 champion (2017, 2018, 2019). In 2019, she was honored as a first team CoSIDA Academic All-American and was the recipient of the NCAA’s Elite 90 award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest GPA at the Final Four.

In a meeting with the College Football Playoff Foundation’s Extra Yard for Teachers in December, McClure received a $2,500 tuition check to support a pathway for a career in education. Also a 2021 NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Award winner, she was a Senior CLASS Award candidate this season and has previously been recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-District first teamer (2018, 2019), a Pac-12 All-Academic first teamer (2018) and a member of the Conference’s Academic Honor Roll (2019).

On the court, McClure was an AVCA All-America honorable mention pick in 2018 and has thrice been a All-America honorable mention selection (2017, 2018, 2019). The outside hitter was named both AVCA All-Pacific North Region and All-Pac-12 in 2018 and landed on AVCA and Pac-12 honorable mention squads in 2019. In 2017, she earned a spot on the Pac-12 All-Freshman Team.

McClure is the third consecutive Pac-12 Women’s Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year from Stanford, following Morgan Hentz (2019) and Tami Alade (2018).

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Paige Whipple, ARIZONA; Jessica Houghton, CAL; Meegan Hart, COLORADO; Taylor Borup, OREGON; Grace Massey, OREGON STATE; Mac May, UCLA; Lauren Sanders, WASHINGTON.