Skip to main content

Beavers Fall on Day One of the Stanford Invite

Apr 24, 2021

REDWOOD CITY, Calif. - The Oregon State men's rowing team competed in day one of the Stanford Invite, Saturday.
The day started with No. 11 Stanford taking the first victory against No. 14 Oregon State's varsity boat. Coxed by Ethan deBorja, the varsity squad, consisting of Brian Tames, Cal Labonski, Tristan Gavin, Jacoby Wilson, Andrew Balsbaugh, Colin Lindquist, Nils Patrick, and Ryan Coulter, finished in 5:54.33.
Forty minutes later, the junior varsity team, also coxed by deBorja, finished about nine seconds behind the Cardinal's JV squad. Chris Neihoff, Ryan Ghalayini, Zach Niedermeyer, Ben La Fond, Tristin Vanderlind, Nathan Purtzer, Christian Touhey, Nick Taylor filled the JV boat.
During the afternoon session both the varsity and junior varsity boats fell to No. 2 California. In their second race of the day the varsity team crossed the finish line in 6:22.80 while the JV squad finished in 6:44.00.
Oregon State will finish the invite tomorrow (Apr. 24) morning with a head-to-head against Santa Clara.
Varsity 8
Coxswain: Ethan deBorja
Stroke: Brian Tames
7: Cal Labonski
6: Tristan Gavin
5: Jacoby Wilson
4: Andrew Balsbaugh
3: Colin Lindquist
2: Nils Patrick
Bow: Ryan Coulter
Coxswain: Ethan deBorja
Stroke: Chris Neihoff
7: Ryan Ghalayini
6: Zach Niedermeyer
5: Ben La Fond
4: Tristin Vanderlind
3: Nathan Purtzer
2: Christian Touhey
Bow: Nick Taylor
Coxswain: Ethan deBorja
Stroke: Patrick McIntee
7: Samuel Silberstein
6: William La Fond 
5: Samuel Foltz
4: Ryan Ramsey
3: Kevin Myles
2: Zachary Smith
Bow: Will Kendall
For more information on the Oregon State men's rowing team, visit or follow the team's official Twitter account at, on Facebook at, or on Instagram at
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).