Skip to main content

Best of Both Worlds

Apr 24, 2021

STANFORD, Calif. - Meghan McClure has been named the Pac-12 Women's Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2020 season, which was contested during the spring of 2021. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A science, technology and society major with a 4.04 GPA, McClure is a two-time NCAA champion (2018, 2019) and three-time Pac-12 champion (2017, 2018, 2019). In 2019, she was honored as a first team CoSIDA Academic All-American and was the recipient of the NCAA's Elite 90 award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest GPA at the Final Four.

In a meeting with the College Football Playoff Foundation's Extra Yard for Teachers in December, McClure received a $2,500 tuition check to support a pathway for a career in education. Also a 2021 NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Award winner, she was a Senior CLASS Award candidate this season and has previously been recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-District first teamer (2018, 2019), a Pac-12 All-Academic first teamer (2018) and a member of the conference's Academic Honor Roll (2019).

On the court, McClure was an AVCA All-America honorable mention pick in 2018 and has thrice been a All-America honorable mention selection (2017, 2018, 2019). The outside hitter was named both AVCA All-Pacific North Region and All-Pac-12 in 2018 and landed on AVCA and Pac-12 honorable mention squads in 2019. In 2017, she earned a spot on the Pac-12 All-Freshman Team.

McClure is the third consecutive Pac-12 Women's Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year from Stanford, following Morgan Hentz (2019) and Tami Alade (2018), and the fifth Cardinal overall. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

ALSO NOMINATED: Paige Whipple (Arizona), Jessica Houghton (California), Meegan Hart (Colorado), Taylor Borup (Oregon), Grace Massey (Oregon State) Mac May (UCLA) and Lauren Sanders (Washington).