Skip to main content

No. 1 Washington Women Sweep Dexter Lake Invitational

Apr 24, 2021

LOWELL, Ore. – The No. 1-ranked Washington women's rowing team swept five races Saturday morning at the Dexter Lake Invitational, beating crews from Oregon State, USC, Gonzaga and Sacramento State.
The Huskies, unbeaten in any race this season, won in the first, second and third varsity eights, and in the varsity four and second varsity four.
Washington's varsity eight crew continued its unbeaten season with a win in its race, finishing several lengths in front of Pac-12 foe Oregon State, which took second. The Husky eight rowed ahead of the field for the entire 2,000 meters and, led by coxswain Nina Castagna and stroke Ella Cossill of Australia, won with a time of 6:17.36. OSU was second, in 6:29.02.

"It was a really great opportunity to travel with a big squad and see how we are building boat speed within and across all lineups," said Holly Drapp, the varsity five seat and 2021 team captain. "Being able to race five or six lanes across for the first time this season was super exciting and we were so thankful to have competition to gauge our speed."
Washington's second varsity eight was also the clear winner in its race. The UW crew, with senior coxswain Dana Brooks and stroke rower Carmen McNamara-Smith, was on top from wire-to-wire, though Oregon State kept it close early on.
The UW 2V8+ finished in a time of 6:26.10, nearly 18 seconds ahead of the Beavers. Sacramento State took third place, ahead of USC and Gonzaga.
In the varsity four race, Washington's crew took over the race from the beginning. Coxed by Sachi Yamamoto and stroked by former UW track & field team member Katherine Slack, the Husky four had an open-water lead over the rest of the field by 500 meters, leaving OSU and USC to fight for second. 
Washington won the V4+ race with a time of 7:04.45, well ahead of second-place Oregon State (7:29.11) and USC (7:37.91)
Washington opened the morning with two entries in the second varsity four race, made up of the eight women who would row later in the third varsity eight. Oregon State and Gonzaga also entered two teams each. The duo of Husky fours broke out to the lead from the start, and the crew stroked by Dimitra Tsamopoulou led throughout, while the other Husky boat held second place for the entire length. UW first crew won in a time of 7:18.10, with the other taking second in 7:30.69.
Those same eight women returned to race in the third varsity eight race, the final event of the morning. Washington rowed to a clear victory in that one as well, beating crews from OSU and Gonzaga who were also racing for a second time Saturday. UW finished in 6:44.80, more than 22 seconds in front of the Beavers.

"As a team, I think we came into this race (and the racing going on at home with our Seattle Squad) wanting to show off the power of the pack – how we as Women of Washington make each other faster and stronger and how we can apply this to every stroke we take during our races," Drapp added, referring to other members of the women's team who rowed in a scrimmage against Seattle Pacific Saturday. 
"It's this idea we want to take into the next week of training and racing, but now we get to do it on our home course all together as one squad," Drapp concluded. "This weekend was a great time to explore what we can make of each racing opportunity and how we can learn from it to keep making our boats go as fast as possible."

Next Saturday, the Huskies return to the Montlake Cut for the 2021 Windermere Cup. This year, the Windermere Cup will serve as host for the annual Cal Dual, for both the men and women. Fans are encouraged to watch the regatta from home, via the live video stream at
Varsity Eight
1. Washington – 6:17.36
2. Oregon State – 6:29.02
3. USC – 6:35.32
4. Gonzaga – 6:43.37
5. Sacramento State –6:45.43
Second Varsity Eight
1. Washington – 6:26.10
2. Oregon State – 6:43.97
3. Sacramento State – 6:49.75
4. USC – 6:52.06
5. Gonzaga – 6:53.15
Third Varsity Eight
1. Washington – 6:44.80
2. Oregon State – 7:07.43
3. Gonzaga – 7:40.65
Varsity Four
1. Washington – 7:04.45
2. Oregon State – 7:29.11
3. USC – 7:37.91
4. Gonzaga – 7:41.61
5. Sacramento State – 7:56.79
Second Varsity Four
1. Washington A – 7:18.10
2. Washington B – 7:30.69
3. Oregon State A – 7:39.10
4. Gonzaga A – 7:49.53
5. Oregon State B – 8:09.65
6. Gonzaga B – 8:27.70
Varsity Eight
Shell: Title IX Tenacity
Cox: Nina Castagna (Cincinnati, Ohio/Walnut Hills)
Stroke: Ella Cossill (Gold Coast, Australia)
7: Tabea Schendekehl (Dortmund, Germany)
6: Holly Dunford (Tadworth, England, U.K.)
5: Holly Drapp (Tampa, Fla./Strawberry Crest)
4: Lark Skov (Steamboat Springs, Colo./Steamboat Springs)
3: Angharad Broughton (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.)
2: Teal Cohen (Dallas, Texas/The Hockaday School)
Bow: Skylar Jacobson (Lakewood, Wash./Steilacoom)
Second Varsity Eight
Shell: Title IX Sisterhood
Cox: Dana Brooks (Tiburon, Calif./Redwood)
Stroke: Carmen McNamara-Smith (Seattle, Wash./Center School)
7: Hallie Jensen (Spokane, Wash./Lakeside)
6: Isabel van Opzeeland (Hoofddorp, The Netherlands)
5: Trinity Billingslea (Santa Clara, Calif./Archbishop Mitty)
4: Taylor Buell (Olympia, Wash./Capital)
3: Joïe Zier (Orcas Island, Wash./Orcas Island)
2: McKenna Bryant (Kent, Wash./Kennedy Catholic)
Bow: Brittani Shappell (Bellingham, Wash./Walworth Barbour)
Third Varsity Eight
Shell: Jean LaFromboise
Cox: Carina Baxter (El Dorado Hills, Calif./Oak Ridge)
Stroke: Dimitra Tsamopoulou (Athens, Greece)
7: Abby Adebiyi (London, U.K.)
6: Fiona Shields (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Bainbridge)
5: Audrey Tarr (Seattle, Wash./The Northwest School)
4: Laurel Safranek (Anchorage, Alaska/West Anchorage)
3: Claire Marion (San Marcos, Calif./San Marcos)
2: Ellie Bruce (Snoqualmie, Wash./Mount Si)
Bow: Ava Trogus (Oak Park, Ill./Oak Park and River Forest)
Varsity Four
Stroke: Katherine Slack (Everett, Wash./Kamiak)
3: Nikki Martincic (Newtown, Sydney, Australia)
2: Molly Gallaher (Snoqualmie, Wash./Skyline)
Bow: Jenna Phillips (Dayton, Wash./Dayton)
Cox: Sachi Yamamoto (Seattle, Wash./Franklin)
Second Varsity Four – A
Stroke: Dimitra Tsamopoulou (Athens, Greece)
3: Abby Adebiyi (London, U.K.)
2: Fiona Shields (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Bainbridge)
Bow: Claire Marion (San Marcos, Calif./San Marcos)
Cox: Carina Baxter (El Dorado Hills, Calif./Oak Ridge)
Second Varsity Four – B
Stroke: Audrey Tarr (Seattle, Wash./The Northwest School)
3: Laurel Safranek (Anchorage, Alaska/West Anchorage)
2: Ava Trogus (Oak Park, Ill./Oak Park and River Forest)
Bow: Ellie Bruce (Snoqualmie, Wash./Mount Si)
Cox: Izzy Angulo (Shoreline, Wash./Holy Names Academy)