Skip to main content

No. 17 UCLA Defeats San Diego in Chula Vista

Apr 24, 2021
UCLA's Lucy Holgate (photo by Jesus Ramirez)

CHULA VISTA, Calif. – The No. 17-ranked UCLA women's rowing program won three of four races against the University of San Diego at the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center on Saturday morning.
UCLA's two top varsity eight crews each recorded victories in the first two races of the day. The Bruins' varsity four crew finished behind USD's top varsity four, while UCLA's third varsity eight crew crossed the finish line well ahead of the Toreros' crew.
In the morning's first race, UCLA's varsity eight boat posted a final time of 6:40.40, a full 10 seconds ahead of USD's crew (6:50.40).
The Bruins' second varsity eight won the second race of the morning, cross the finish line in 6:48.50. USD posted a 2V8+ time of 6:54.30.
UCLA's varsity four crew finished second in a three-boat heat. USD won the V4+ race with a time of 7:44.10, while UCLA crossed the finish line in 7:49.90. USD raced a V4+ 'B' crew, which completed the race in 8:06.60.
In the final race of the morning, UCLA's third varsity eight crew won its race with a final time of 7:13.30. The Toreros posted a time of 7:39.60.
Saturday's races marked the Bruins' third competition of the spring season. UCLA improved its dual-meet racing record to 3-0, with previous wins against Loyola Marymount and crosstown rival USC.
The Bruins are scheduled to race against USC, in San Pedro (Calif.), on Saturday, May 1.
Saturday's Results
Varsity Eight (V8+)
1. UCLA – 6:40.40
2. USD – 6:50.40
Second Varsity Eight (2V8+)
1. UCLA – 6:48.50
2. USD – 6:54.30
Varsity Four (V4+)
1. USD 'A' – 7:44.10
2. UCLA – 7:49.90
3. USD 'B' – 8:06.60
Third Varsity Eight (3V8+)
1. UCLA – 7:13.30
2. USD – 7:39.60
Saturday's Racing Lineups
Varsity Eight: (stroke) Tasha Strudwick, (7) Lucy Holgate, (6) Olivia Caesar, (5) Jessie Goodall, (4) Allison Carr, (3) Sarah Coufal, (2) Rosemary Varney, (bow) Lucy Pullinger, (coxswain) Sofia Papini.
Second Varsity Eight: (stroke) Paula Jaramillo, (7) Irene Ulitsky, (6) Ellen Ulitsky, (5) Grace Elias, (4) Shelby Meksto, (3) Kieran Wild, (2) Jane DiLauro, (bow) Alex Benson, (coxswain) Sydney Page.
Varsity Four: (stroke) Leila Bernstein, (3) Austyn Sirmon, (2) Audrey Goodman, (bow) Grace Hinckley, (coxswain) Anneliese Solberg.
Third Varsity Eight: (stroke) Abby Hile, (7) Whitney Wood, (6) Sharon Doyle, (5) Samantha House, (4) Katerina Rally, (3) Julia Golder, (2) Juliette Frank, (bow) Audrey Petersen, (coxswain) Alli Hinmon.