Skip to main content

Recap of Day One (36 Holes) from Men's #Pac12Golf Championship

Apr 26, 2021
Sophomore Ryggs Johnston is a tournament-best 8-under on the par-5 holes.

The Sun Devil men's golf team is in first after Monday's first 36 holes of the Pac-12 Championship held at Mayacama Golf Club in Santa Rosa, CA. ASU is a shot ahead of Arizona and ten shots clear of Oregon in what could become a two-team Territorial Cup race for the title.

The 12 teams will play 18 holes both Tuesday and Wednesday, as the Sun Devils will try and win their 13th Pac-12 title since joining the league in the 1978-79 season.

Arizona (344-352=696) grabbed the first round lead with a 16-under 344 as the teams are playing six and counting five. ASU (346-349=695) got great first rounds from Ryggs Johnston (67), David Puig (68) and Mason Andersen (68) and then got another 66 from Johnston and had 69s from David Puig and Chun An Yu to grab the lead at halftime.

Johnston's 5-under 67 in the first round, included two eagles, while Andersen's solid 4-under 68 included an eagle, two birdies and no bogeys. Johnston, a sophomore from Libby, MT, is a tournament-best 8-under on the par-5 holes.

64/-7, Ryggs Johnston (Valspar Invitational second round/March 15)
64/-7, David Puig (The Prestige first round/Feb. 15)
65/-5, Chun An Yu (The Goodwin second round/March 26)
66/-6, Ryggs Johnston (Pac-12 Championship second round/April 26)
66/-5, Ryggs Johnston (ASU Thunderbird Collegiate third round/April 17)
66/-5, David Puig (ASU Thunderbird Collegiate first round/April 16)
66/-6, David Puig (Southwestern Invitational second round/Jan. 26)
67/-5, Ryggs Johnston (Pac-12 Championship first round/April 26)
67/-3, Ryggs Johnston (The Goodwin third round/March 27)
67/-5, David Puig (Amer Ari Intercollegiate first round/Feb. 2)
67/-5, Cameron Sisk (Amer Ari Intercollegiate first round/Feb. 2)

PAC-10/12 SUCCESS AT ASU: Arizona State has won 12 Pac-10 titles in its 41 chances, including a conference record six straight from 1995-2000 under Pac-12 Men's Golf Coach of the Century Randy Lein. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU's other six Pac-10 titles were in 1979 (its first year in the league), 1981, 1989, 1990, 1993 and 2008. ASU tied for the league title in 2005 with Washington but lost on a tiebreaker formula, and the league decided to go to a playoff format after that season.

COACH THURMOND HAS THREE RINGS: Matt Thurmond's earned three Pac-10 titles in his 14 years at Washington, as the Huskies claimed the team title in 2010, 2009 and 2005. UW had not won the Pac-12 title since 1988 prior to its 2005 championship.

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10/12 MEDALISTS: Jon Rahm won the 2016 title and Paul Casey won three straight Pac-10 titles from 1998-2000, which is a conference record for consecutive Pac-10/12 titles. Other Sun Devils who have won the Pac-10 championship are Scott Johnson (1997), Phil Mickelson (1990), co-medalists Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes (1981), Jim Bertoncino (co-medalist in 1980) and co-medalists Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist (1979).



PAR 72/6,785 YARDS
APRIL 26-28, 2021
Arizona State 346-349=695/-25
Arizona 344-352=696/-24

Oregon 355-350=705/-15
Stanford 358-357=715/-5
Oregon State 357-363=720/E
USC 356-364=720/E

Washington 360-361=721/+1
California 358-371=730/+10

UCLA 368-368=736/+16
Utah 363-373=736/+16
Washington State 374-362=736/+16
Colorado 367-370=737/+17

1. Ryggs Johnston 67-66=133/-11
2. Yuki Moriyama, Oregon 65-69=134/_10
T3. David Puig 68-69=137/-7
T5. Chun An Yu 69-69=138/-6
T10. Mason Andersen 68-73=141/-3
T36. Cameron Sisk 74-72=146/+2
N/A. Blake Wagoner 81-D