Skip to main content

Olivia Mehaffey Named Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year

Apr 27, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO – Sun Devil Women's Golf's Olivia Mehaffey has been recognized as the 2021 Pac-12 Women's Golf Scholar Athlete of the Year, the conference announced.
Mehaffey has already established herself as one of the greatest to ever wear the Maroon & Gold and she continues to add to her historic resume.
In the storied history of the Sun Devil Women's Golf program, perhaps no one has done more for her school on and off the course than Mehaffey. Hailing from Belfast, Ireland, Mehaffey has been a positive influence in the local and Irish golf communities, bringing attention to female golf in her home country while serving as a role model for aspiring golfers in Arizona.
A three-time First Team All-Pac-12 performer (2017, 2018, 2019) and four-time WGCA All-American (Second Team - 2018, 2019; Honorable Mention - 2017, 2020), Mehaffey has completed her undergraduate degree in sociology with a 3.75 grade-point average and is pursuing a graduate degree in organizational leadership with a current 4.00 GPA.

Electing to return for the 2020-21 season, Mehaffey has recorded three top-10 finishes for the Golfstat No. 7 nationally ranked Sun Devils, highlighted by a second-place showing in ASU's victory at the Clover Cup. That runner-up performance featured a career-best and program-record 10-under-par 62 in the final round.

Additional career accomplishments include four individual event victories, highlighted by the 2019 Pac-12 individual and 2019 NCAA Norman Regional titles, along with a contributor on ASU's 2017 NCAA National Championship team. She has amassed 23 career top-10 performances and 69 rounds under par including 22 rounds in the 60s, all totals that rank among the best in NCAA history. She recently became a five-time Pac-12 All-Conference honoree, the first in conference or program history.

She is also a four-time WGCA All-American Scholar and is on track to receive the distinction again. She was a contributor to Arizona State boasting the fifth-highest GPA among all Division I Women's Golf teams during the 2017-18 season. She was a Pac-12 Spring Academic Honor Roll member in 2020 and prior to that made the Pac-12 All-Academic Second Team twice. She has made Dean's List five times and has been a Sun Devil Scholar-Athlete nine times, earning the distinction every semester of her collegiate career.

Mehaffey is the sixth recipient of the honor from the Sun Devils' women's golf program. That is four more than the next highest school, as Arizona State has claimed 6 of the 13 possible awards. Arizona State now has a total of 36 Pac-12 Scholar Athletes of the Year, the second-highest total in the conference trailing only Stanford.
Olivia Mehaffey, 2021
Roberta Liti, 2018
Noemi Jimenez, 2015
Giulia Molinaro, 2012
Jiuliana Murcia, 2010
Azahara Munoz, 2009
In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, beach volleyball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, women's lacrosse, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.
Teams and individuals participating in the 2021 NCAA Division I Women's will be announced as part of GOLF Channel's College Central coverage taking place tomorrow, April 28 at 2 p.m. ET. Selection coverage will be just the start of coverage of the 2021 golf championships by GOLF Channel, with Head Coach Missy Farr-Kaye joining the show after the regionals are finalized.
Regional play for the 2021 Division I Women's Golf Championships will be held May 10-
12, with play taking place at the Louisiana University Club in Baton Rouge, La., hosted by LSU; The Ohio State University Golf Club – Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio, hosted by Ohio State; University of Louisville Golf Club in Simpsonville, Ky., hosted by Louisville; and Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif., hosted by Stanford. Each of the four regional sites will include 18 teams and six individuals competing, with the top six teams (24 teams total) and the low three individuals (12 individuals total) not on an advancing team from each regional site advancing the national championships at Grayhawk.
The network will provide highlights from regional play of both championships leading up to coverage of the 2021 championships to be held at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz., hosted by Arizona State and The Thunderbirds.

The women's championship will be held May 21-26, with GOLF Channel providing live coverage of the final day of individual championship play on May 24 as well as the team match play on May 25-26.  See GOLF Channel full programming schedule.

For the latest updates and information on the Sun Devil Women's Golf program, follow our Twitter/Instagram accounts (@SunDevilWGolf), like our Facebook page (, and visit our website (