Skip to main content

Holland Selected 36th Overall By Dolphins

Apr 30, 2021

EUGENE, Ore. — Jevon Holland became the first safety and second Duck off the board in the 2021 NFL Draft on Friday, going to the Miami Dolphins early in the second round with the No. 36 overall selection.
Holland is the eighth defensive back in program history to be drafted in the first two rounds of the NFL Draft, and the first since T.J. Ward went 38th overall to Cleveland in 2010. No. 36 overall is the sixth-highest an Oregon defensive back has ever been taken.

The Coquitlam, Canada, native follows left tackle Penei Sewell, who was taken No. 7 overall by the Detroit Lions on Thursday. Holland becomes the 38th player in program history to be selected in the first two rounds, and 12th since 2010.
This is the first time since 2015 that two Oregon players have been drafted in the first two rounds of the same NFL Draft, and the seventh time since 2000. The Ducks have now had multiple players drafted for the fourth straight year.
One of only four FBS players with four or more interceptions in both 2018 and 2019, Holland was a Pro Football Focus all-Pac-12 first-team selection as a sophomore before opting out of the 2020 season. He picked off five passes in 2018 and four in 2019, becoming the first Duck since Jairus Byrd (2006-07) to lead the team in interceptions in back-to-back seasons.
A standout both on defense and special teams, Holland was a 2019 PFF all-Pac-12 first-team selection as a safety and a third-team honoree as a punt returner. He racked up 110 total tackles as a Duck, and in the 2019 opener vs. Auburn became the first FBS player with 130 punt return yards and an interception in a game since 2007.

2021 Oregon NFL Draft Picks
1. OT Penei Sewell (1st Round, No. 7 overall, Detroit Lions)
2. S Jevon Holland (2nd Round, No. 36 overall, Miami Dolphins)
UO Defensive Backs Drafted in Rounds 1-2
2021 – Jevon Holland, No. 36 (Miami Dolphins)
2010 – T.J. Ward, No. 38 (Cleveland Browns)
2009 – Patrick Chung, No. 34 (New England Patriots)
2009 – Jairus Byrd, No. 42 (Buffalo Bills)
1996 – Alex Molden, No. 11 (New Orleans Saints)
1988 – Anthony Newman, No. 35 (Los Angeles Rams)
1976 – Mario Clark, No. 18 (Buffalo Bills)
1968 – Jim Smith, No. 12 (Washington)
1964 – Mel Renfro, No. 17 (Dallas Cowboys)