Skip to main content

Stanford's Arbuthnott named Pac-12 Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year

May 4, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO – STANFORD’s Emily Arbuthnott has been named the Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2021 season.The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A economics major from Harpenden, Hertfordshire, England with a 4.16 GPA, Arbuthnott is a two-time NCAA team champion (2018, 2019) and three-time Pac-12 team champion (2017, 2018, 2019).

Honored as a first-team CoSIDA Academic All-American in both 2019 and 2020, Arbuthnott made the Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll last season and was named to the Pac-12 All-Academic First Team in 2018 and 2019. She is also a four-time ITA Scholar-Athlete (2017, 2018, 2019, 2020). 

On the court, Arbuthnott was voted ITA Northwest Region Most Improved Senior in 2020. She made the NCAA All-Tournament Team at No. 5 singles as a freshman in 2017 and made it again in 2019 for No. 2 doubles. A 2018 ITA All-American in singles and doubles, Arbuthnott and teammate Michaela Gordon were named that season’s Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Year.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Ilze Hattingh, ASU; Gitte Heynemans, ARIZ; Anna Bright, CAL; Julia Eshet, ORE; Annette Goulak, UCLA; Angela Kulikov, USC; Jasmine Rich, UTAH; Melisa Ates, WSU; Vanessa Wong, WASH.