Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Stanford's Genesen named Pac-12 Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year

May 4, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO - STANFORD’s William Genesen has been named the Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2021 season. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A science, technology and society major with a 4.00 GPA, Genesen is a two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete (2018, 2019) and earned a spot on the Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll in 2020.

On the court, Genesen was an All-Pac-12 honorable mentioned selection in 2019 and ranked as high as No. 54 nationally in singles last season. The senior is 58-32 over his career in singles play, including a 32-12 record in dual play, and is 29-16 in doubles play for his career. He was 5-2 this season in singles, and helped the Cardinal clinch the 2021 Pac-12 regular-season title.

Genesen is the second consecutive Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year from Stanford, following Sameer Kumar (2019). Spring sports winners were not selected last season due to the suspension of competition because of COVID-19

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Alejandro Reguant, ARIZ; Nathan Ponwith, ASU; Emmanuel Coste, ORE; Bryce Pereira, UCLA; Daniel Cukierman, USC; Slava Shainyan, UTAH; Jack Davis, WASH.