Skip to main content

Pac-12 announces 2021 men's golf postseason awards

May 6, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO — Brad Reeves of ARIZONA was named the Pac-12 Men’s Golfer of the Year, David Puig of ARIZONA STATE was named the Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year, and Wildcats' coach Jim Anderson was tabbed Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the 2021 season in a voting by the Pac-12 coaches. In addition, the 2021 All-Pac-12 Men’s Golf All-Conference Teams as selected by the coaches was announced.

Pac-12 Men's Golfer of the Year: Brad Reeves, R-Sr., ARIZONA (Woodbridge, Calif.)

Reeves is the seventh different Arizona player to win the Conference's Golfer of the Year honor, and first since 2004. He led Arizona to its first Pac-12 team title since 2004 by becoming the Wildcats' first Pac-12 individual champion since 2008 with his playoff victory at Mayacama Golf Club on April 28. The victory was his second of 2021 (Arizona Intercollegiate) as well as his fourth top-10 and sixth top-20 of the season. The Pac-12 Golfer of the Month for April will lead Arizona into the Cle Elum Regional of the 2021 NCAA Championships with a 70.1 season scoring average, the second-lowest in the Pac-12.

Pac-12 Men's Golf Newcomer of the Year: David Puig, So., ARIZONA STATE (Brie et Angonnes, France)

Puig is the fourth Arizona State recipient of the league's Freshman/Newcomer of the Year award, joining teammate Cameron Sisk (2019), Jon Rahm (2013) and Alejandro Canizares (2003). Eligibility for the 2021 honor was expanded to include sophomores stemming from the canceled 2019-20 season due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Haskins and Hogan Award candidate currently paces the Pac-12 with a 70.0 scoring average. He recorded a pair of season-opening victories - at the Southwestern Invitational in late January and Amer Ari Intercollegiate in February - to earn the debut Pac-12 Golfer of the Month award for 2021, and boasts six top-10 finishes in nine events so far this spring.

Pac-12 Men's Golf Coach of the Year: Jim Anderson, ARIZONA

Anderson becomes the second Arizona mentor to garner Conference Coach of the Year accolades, joining three-time recipient Rick LaRose (1987, 1991, 2004). He has guided the Wildcats to three victories so far in the 2021 season, including the program's first Pac-12 team championship since 2004. The three wins are also the most for the program since capturing four in 2004. Along with mentoring Pac-12 individual medalist and Golfer of the Year Brad Reeves, Anderson also guided the Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year David Laskin and four All-Conference honorees (Reeves, Laskin, Chase Sienkiewicz, Trevor Werbylo). Anderson's Wildcats enter 2021 NCAA Cle Elum Regional play ranked No. 16 by Golfweek, seeking to advance to NCAA Championship stroke play for the first time since 2011 and on the verge of their best final national ranking since 2006 (No. 14).

The Pac-12 golf awards and the All-Pac-12 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches. 

Following is the complete list of 2021 Pac-12 Men's Golf honors:

Pac-12 Golfer of the Year: Brad Reeves, ARIZONA
Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year: David Puig, ARIZONA STATE
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Jim Anderson, ARIZONA

All-Pac-12 First Team

Name School Year Hometown
Barclay Brown Stanford So. South Yorkshire, England
Ryggs Johnston Arizona State So. Libby, Mont.
Shawn Lu Oregon State Sr. Honolulu, Hawai'i
Kaito Onishi USC Jr. Bradenton, Fla.
David Puig Arizona State So. La Garriga, Spain
Brad Reeves Arizona R-Sr. Woodbridge, Calif.
Trevor Werbylo Arizona Sr. Tucson, Ariz.
Chun An Yu Arizona State Sr. Taoyuan, Taiwan

All-Pac-12 Second Team*

Name School Year Hometown
Mason Andersen Arizona State Sr. Chandler, Ariz.
Devon Bling UCLA Sr. Ridgecrest, Calif.
Tom Gueant Oregon Sr. Brie et Angonnes, France
David Laskin Arizona R-Sr. Elk Grove, Calif.
Daniel O'Loughlin Colorado Sr. Nottingham, England
Henry Shimp Stanford 5th Charlotte, N.C.
Chase Sienkiewicz Arizona So. Sacramento, Calif.
Spencer Tibbits Oregon State Sr. Vancouver, Wash.
Blake Tomlinson Utah Jr. Salt Lake City, Utah

* Due to a tie in voting, there are nine members of the Second Team.

Honorable Mention (two-or-more coach votes, or top 10 at Pac-12 Championships): Aaron Du, California; Henry Lee, Washington; Chuan-Tai Lin, Washington; Yuki Moriyama, Oregon; Ethan Ng, Stanford; Jan Schneider, Washington; Mitchell Schow, Utah.

Pac-12 All-Newcomer Team^

Name School Year Hometown
Javier Barcos Utah So. Estella, Spain
Barclay Brown Stanford So. South Yorkshire, England
Aaron Du California Fr. Beijing, China
Shane Ffrench USC Fr. San Diego, Calif.
Ryggs Johnston Arizona State So. Libby, Mont.
Yuki Moriyama Oregon Fr. Kanagawa, Japan
David Puig Arizona State So. La Garriga, Spain
Chase Sienkiewicz Arizona So. Sacramento, Calif.
Michael Thorbjornsen Stanford Fr. Wellesley, Mass.
Karl Vilips Stanford Fr. Perth, Western Australia

^ Five member All-Freshman Team expanded to 10 member All-Newcomer Team to account for extended award eligibility to sophomores stemming from canceled 2019-20 season due to COVID-19 pandemic.

Honorable Mention: Owen Avrit, Oregon; Chuan-Tai Lin, Washington; Nate Stember, Oregon.