Skip to main content

Ryan Named MAC Hermann Semifinalist

May 3, 2021

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford redshirt junior forward Zach Ryan was named one of 15 semifinalists for the 2020-21 MAC Hermann Trophy, it was announced Tuesday.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer and has been awarded annually since 1967. Three men and three women finalists will be named for the award on Wednesday, May 12. The 2020-21 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on May 27, 2021 to formally announce this year's winners.

 In 2015, two-time Stanford All-American and two-time MLS Cup champion Jordan Morris became the first Cardinal men's player to win the honor. Stanford has featured at least one player on the list of semifinalists for the award in six straight years.

Ryan, the Pac-12 Player of the Year, has been the key cog to Stanford's offense all season long, leading the team with 10 goals and three assists for 23 points total. He scored in nine of Stanford's 13 matches, including a season-best brace at rival California in February. He ranks second in the Pac-12 in both total goals and total points, while his four game-winning goals are first in the conference and third nationally, with none bigger than his overtime winner against No. 6 Washington to win the league championship. He also ranks near the top-10 nationally in goals per game (0.77), points per game (1.77), total goals and total points. He is just shy of breaking into the program's top-10 lists for career goals and career points.

The Cardinal continues its quest for a fourth national championship when it faces North Carolina on Thursday, May 6 in the third round of the NCAA Tournament in Cary, N.C. Kickoff is slated for 3 p.m. PT.