Skip to main content

Ducks Secure 14th Straight Regional Selection

May 5, 2021

For the 14th straight season, Oregon earned a regional bid with its selection to the NCAA Cle Elum Regional. The Ducks will be the No. 10 seed when they begin NCAA play at Tumble Creek Golf & Country Club, May 17-19.
"We're excited to make it to NCAAs again," said head coach Casey Martin. "I love the location of the regional we were placed at. We are familiar with the course and will work hard to be ready."
The Ducks are coming off of a top-5 finish at the Pac-12 Championships the least time out, coming in fifth for the program's third top-5 conference finish in the last four seasons. Oregon finished the season with four top-5 finishes, including back-to-back runner-ups at the Bandon Dunes Championship and Duck Invitational in March.
Oregon was led by a balanced roster led by Tom Gueant and Yuki Moriyama, who both finished with scoring averages below 72.00, with Gueant leading the way at 71.54 and Moriyama at 71.86. Gueant's season was highlighted by a third-place finish at The Goodwin, where he closed with a school-record tying 8-under 62 in the final round to finish a shot out of a playoff. Moriyama ended the season with a third-place finish at the Pac-12 Championships, hanging around the lead for most of the week before he also finished a shot out of a playoff.
Three other Oregon players also turned in at least one top-10 finish throughout the season. Craig Ronne turned in a sixth-place finish at the Duck Invitational in March, while Nate Stember came in seventh at the Bandon Dunes Championship and Owen Avrit turned in a 10th-place finish at the Arizona Intercollegiate in January.
The top five teams and the low individual not on a qualifying team at each of the six regionals will advance to the NCAA Championships, which run May 28-June 2 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.
NCAA Cle Elum Regional Field
1. Wake Forest
2. Pepperdine
3. Florida
4. Arizona
5. San Francisco
6. Iowa
7. Washington
8. East Tennessee State
9. Utah
10. Oregon
11. Mississippi State
12. Long Beach State
13. Denver
14. Sacramento State