Skip to main content

Three Beach Bruins Earn All-America Acclaim

May 12, 2021
Three Bruins earn AVCA All-America acclaim for the first time in their careers.

SOCIAL MEDIA: BeachVB on Twitter | BeachVB on Facebook | BeachVB on Instagram

LEXINGTON, Ky., -- The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced its ninth annual AVCA Collegiate Beach All-America Teams and three Bruins made the list. UCLA's pair on court one, Savvy Simo and Lexy Denaburg were both named to the first team while junior Lea Monkhouse on court two was named to the second team.

Simo and Denaburg are the sixth and seventh first team All-Americans in program history. The duo went 28-8 overall with 22 of the pair's 28 wins coming against teams ranked in the final AVCA Collegiate Beach Poll and also came on court one. They also helped guide UCLA to the 2021 Pac-12 Championship and a third-straight NCAA Championship final. The Bruins were ranked No. 2 in the final AVCA Collegiate Beach Coaches Poll.

Monkhouse went 22-12 overall on the year and played on four different courts for UCLA in 2021 with four different partners. She spent the majority of time playing on court two where she went 17-11 overall and spent most of the season with Abby Van Winkle on court two, going 12-7. She ended the year on court two with Devon Newberry going 5-4 on the season.

This is the first year that an AVCA Collegiate Beach Volleyball Second Team All-America was honored. Thirteen different schools are represented in this year's class with Florida State, TCU, and USC leading the way with four individuals each. All three Bruins earned the first-ever AVCA All-American honors in their careers.

The 2021 selections were made by the AVCA Beach Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Beth Van Fleet (Georgia State), Andrew Fuller (Stanford), Hector Gutierrez (TCU), and Kristen Rohr (Grand Canyon).


Name Institution
Daniela Alvarez TCU
Erica Brok Florida Atlantic
Lexy Denaburg UCLA
Federica Frasca*** Florida International
Macy Gordon Cal Poly
Tina Graudina*** Southern California
Xolani Hodel Stanford
Taryn Kloth LSU
Megan Kraft Southern California
Tania Moreno Mateeva TCU
Mackenzie Morris Florida Atlantic
Kristen Nuss*** LSU
Roberta Ribeiro Florida International
Savvy Simo UCLA
Emily Sonny Cal Poly 
Sunny Villapando Stanford

*Denotes number of years selected to an AVCA Collegiate Beach All-America team.


Name Institution
Skylar Allen South Carolina
Olivia Blackburn TCU
Hailey Brockett TCU
Alaina Chacon Florida State
Ana Costa Stetson
Selina Marolf Loyola Marymount
Molly McBain Florida State
Mima Mirkovic Cal
Lea Monkhouse UCLA
Reka Orsi Toth Loyola Marymount
Carly Perales Stetson
Keara Rutz Florida State
Julia Scoles Southern California
Sammy Slater** Southern California
Katie Smith South Carolina
Torrey Van Winden** Florida State