Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference
of Champions

Pac-12 CEO Group approves elimination of intraconference transfer rule & increased student-athlete involvement in Conference governance

May 17, 2021

SAN FRANCISCO – Supporting recommendations from the Pac-12 Council, the Conference’s CEO Group approved a number of measures at its annual spring meeting on Monday. Among the actions taken by the presidents and chancellors of Pac-12 institutions were votes to provide student-athletes enhanced flexibility in deciding where to study and compete, and to increase their involvement in the Pac-12’s official governance process.

“The Pac-12 mission is to develop the next generation of leaders in academics and athletics,” said Michael Schill, Pac-12 CEO Group Chair and University of Oregon President. “Providing student-athletes with more flexibility in choosing their path and greater representation in the Pac-12 governance process strengthens our commitment to achieving that mission.” 

Elimination of Pac-12 Intraconference Transfer Rule
The unanimous decision removes the requirement that all undergraduate transfers within the Conference serve one academic year in residence at their new institution before being permitted to compete. Moving forward, the eligibility of intraconference transfers will be governed by NCAA legislation. The decision is effective immediately for all transfers entering their second Conference institution in the fall of 2021 and only applies the first time an undergraduate student-athlete decides to transfer. 
SALT Composition
To increase student-athlete representation in the Conference’s official voting governance structure, 12 additional representatives (one from each institution) will be added to the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Leadership Team (SALT). Previously made up of two student-athletes from each institution, SALT membership will now include at least three student-athletes per school during each academic year, with those three student-athletes representing each sport season (fall, winter, spring).

In October of 2015, the Pac-12 became the first major conference to formally integrate the student-athlete perspective into its formal governance process with the addition of SALT to the Pac-12 Council, which also includes Athletics Directors, Faculty Athletics Representatives and Senior Woman Administrators.

About the Pac-12 Conference
The Conference has a tradition as the “Conference of Champions,” leading the nation in NCAA Championships in 54 of the last 60 years, with 536 NCAA team titles overall. The Conference comprises 12 leading U.S. universities - the University of Arizona, Arizona State University, the University of California, Berkeley, the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), the University of Colorado, the University of Oregon, Oregon State University, Stanford University, the University of Southern California, the University of Utah, the University of Washington and Washington State University. For more information on the Conference’s programs and member institutions go to