Skip to main content

Chidekh, Lumsden Earn All-Pac-12 Accolades

May 20, 2021

SEATTLE - An outstanding first Husky season for Clement Chidekh has been recognized with All-Pac-12 First Team distinction, as the Pac-12 conference announced its postseason honors today. Junior Ewen Lumsden also was named an honorable mention.

The All-Pac-12 Teams are based on a vote of the conference's head coaches.

"To be a top team, you have to have top players and Clement is showing that he can be that guy," said Head Coach Matt Anger. "It is good that Ewen received recognition as well. It certainly bodes well for us to have both of these guys for a couple more years."

Chidekh becomes the first Husky to earn First Team honors in his first year on the squad since Alex Slovic in 2004. He is the ninth Husky all-time named to the First Team, and the first since Jake Douglas in 2018. The native of Lyon, France went 14-6 in singles play for the Dawgs, all but one match coming at No. 1 singles. He had three ranked wins at the time of the match and was ranked as high as No. 73 in the ITA singles rankings.

Lumsden was steady for the Dawgs all year at No. 2 and No. 3 singles, with an 11-8 record overall. He had a big clinching win in the Pac-12 victory over Oregon at No. 2 singles. This is his first All-Pac-12 recognition. 



Name School Year Hometown
Daniel Cukierman USC Sr.  Tel Aviv, Israel
Keegan Smith  UCLA Sr.  San Diego, Calif.
Nathan Ponwith  Arizona State Fr. Scottsdale, Ariz.
Gustaf Strom Arizona Sr. Sweden
Clement Chidekh Washington  So. Lyon, France
Axel Geller  Stanford Sr. Buenos Aires, Argentina


Name School Year Hometown
Govind Nanda  UCLA  Jr. Redlands, Calif.
Arthur Fery  Stanford Fr. Wimbledon, England
Riley Smith  USC R-Sr.  Long Beach, Calif.
Jonas Ziverts  Arizona So.  Solna, Sweden
Emmanuel Coste  Oregon Sr. Aix-en-Provence, France
Joshua Charlton Oregon  Jr.  Traralgon, Victoria, Australia

HONORABLE MENTION: Filip Malbasic, ARIZ; Alejandro Reguant, ARIZ; Drew Baird, UCLA; Stefan Dostanic, USC; Bradley Frye, USC; Lodewijk Weststrate, USC; Franco Capalbo, UTAH; Ewen Lumsden, WASH.