Skip to main content

Wong First Team; Gallagher, Fortin All-Pac-12 H.M.

May 20, 2021

SEATTLE - Three Huskies earned All-Pac-12 honors as the conference announced its Women's Tennis All-Pac-12 Team today. Senior Vanessa Wong was voted to the six-player All-Pac-12 First Team, her third All-Pac-12 honor and her first time on the First Team. Sedona Gallagher and Sarah-Maude Fortin earned honorable mention.

Wong, currently the nation's 24th-ranked singles player, was a Second Team pick in 2018 and 2019. She becomes the sixth player in UW history to earn First Team honors, joining Stacey Fung (2018), Denise Dy (2011), Venise Chan (2009, 2010), Dea Sumantri (2004), and Kristina Kraszewski (1999, 2000, 2001).

Wong posted a 17-4 record at No. 1 singles for the Huskies, defeating seven ranked singles players. She was the ITA UTR National Player of the Week on March 17. Her 93-26 career singles record ranks her fifth in career wins in school history, and her .781 winning percentage is second-best all-time.

Gallagher earns honorable mention for the second time. The junior posted a 16-4 dual singles record, including a 12-3 mark at the No. 3 singles spot. She has run her singles career record to 56-16, a .777 win percentage that is third in school history.

Fortin completed a stellar freshman season with a 15-4 singles record, including winning her last five matches. She was 10-4 at the No. 2 spot and 5-0 at No. 3

Wong is set to compete in the NCAA Singles Championships, which start this Sunday, May 23, in Florida.



Name School Year Hometown
Abbey Forbes UCLA So. Raleigh, N.C.
Janice Tjen Oregon Fr. Jakarta, Indonesia
Haley Giavara  California So. San Diego, Calif.
Michaela Gordon Stanford Sr. Saratoga, Calif.
Vanessa Wong Washington  Sr. Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Salma Ewing  USC Jr. Lakewood, Calif.


Name School Year Hometown
Jada Hart  UCLA  Gr. Colton, Calif.
Michaela Bayerlova Washington State Sr.  Krumbach, Germany
Ilze Hattingh Arizona State Sr. Pretoria, South Africa
Eryn Cayetano USC So.  Long Beach, Calif.
Jelena Lukic Arizona Sr. Belgrade, Serbia
Julia Rosenqvist  California Sr. Onsala, Sweden

HONORABLE MENTION: Kayla Wilkins, ARIZ; Anna Bright, CAL; Jada Bui, CAL; Hannah Viller Moeller, CAL; Valentina Ivanov, CAL; Maria Campos, CAL; Megan Forster, COLO; Uxia Martinez Moral, ORE; Rifanty Kahfiani, ORE; Angelica Blake, STAN; Emma Higuchi, STAN; Vivian Wolff, UCLA; Annette Goulak, UCLA; Naomi Cheong, USC; Danielle Willson, USC; Anastasia Goncharova, UTAH; Sarah-Maude Fortin, WASH; Sedona Gallagher, WASH.