Skip to main content

Women’s Rowing Announces Team Awards

May 29, 2021

CORVALLIS, Ore. The Oregon State women's rowing team announced its team awards at a team banquet Friday night.
Four Beavers – Muryn Greene, Emma Bernou, Rebecca Falash, and Torree Hawken – were garnered with honors at the event.
Greene was tabbed the team's Athlete of the Year. The Pac-12 All-Conference Team selection raced in the varsity-8 stroke seat in all six events this season. She helped OSU to its best Pac-12 Championships finish since 2009, finishing fourth with 21 team points.
Bernou earned the Suzanne Wilkins Award as the Most Inspirational. She sat in the varsity-8 three seat in the season opener against Washington State. The junior raced in the varsity-8 boat as the four seat at the Big Ten Double Dual and Pac-12 Invitational. In the Dexter Lake Invitational and second Washington State dual, she was the second varsity-8 four seat. Bernou finished the season in the two seat of the second varsity-8 boat at the Pac-12 Championships.
First year Beaver, Falash, walked away as the team's Most Improved Experienced. Falash was the varsity-4 two seat in all six events this season. She helped OSU to a varsity-4 race win over Indiana and Iowa at the Big Ten Double Dual, along with a win over Washington State on May 1.
The final award of the night went to Torree Hawken, being named the team's Most Improved Novice. Hawken was the third varsity-8 and third varsity-4 bow at the Dexter Lake Invitational and the second Washington State dual. She raced at the Pac-12 Championships in the third varsity-8 two spot.
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).