Skip to main content

Match Play Here We Come! Sun Devils Punch Ticket To Tuesday as No. 1 Seed

May 31, 2021

The key to Monday's final stroke play round for Arizona State at the NCAA Men's Golf Championships at Grayhawk Golf Club was to stay smart and try to keep its position for match play, most people would say.

Putting up big red numbers or having the best team score wasn't a high priority. Just play steady, grab that No. 2 seed and avoid cut line drama.

Yeah, forget that, might as well play lights out and get the No. 1 seed with the second-best round of the day and have your fourth different Sun Devil post the best round of the day.

It won't matter Tuesday at 7:10 a.m. when the top-seeded Sun Devils take on North Carolina in the opening round of match play, but Coach Matt Thurmond's crew can sleep well and feel really good about what it did Monday.

On Monday, the Sun Devils didn't have a bogey until the sixth hole, and through nine holes only one player had their two bogeys. For the fourth straight day, a different Sun Devil posted the best round, as senior Chun An Yu found the groove with a 67.


Cameron Sisk led the way Sunday with a 67. That followed Ryggs Johnston posting ASU's best round on Saturday (63) and Mason Andersen leading the way on Friday (68).

The four-round score was a complete team effort. One Sun Devil had the most birdies (Ryggs Johnston with 19). Another had the second-most pars (Cameron Sisk with 51). Chun An Yu earned his Korn Ferry Tour status and Mason Andersen was steady, while David Puig stayed strong.

Ryggs Johnston (So.), 3rd/2021 (Scottsdale, Ariz.)
Chun An Yu (Jr.), 3rd/2019 (Fayetteville, Ark.)
Jon Rahm (Sr.), T3rd/2016 (Eugene, Ore.)
Jon Rahm (Fr.), T2nd/2013 (Atlanta, Ga.)
Alejandro Canizares (Fr.) 1st/2003 (Stillwater, Okla.)
Darren Angel (Fr.), T3rd/1996 (Chattanooga, Tenn.)
Todd Demsey (So.), 1st/1993 (Lexington, Ky.)
Phil Mickelson (Sr.), 1st/1992 (Albuquerque, N.M.)
Phil Mickelson (So.), 1st/1990 (Tarpon Springs, Fla.)
Phil Mickelson (Fr.), 1st/1989 (Edmond, Okla.)
Jim Carter (Jr.), 1st/1983 (Fresno, Calif.)

The Sun Devils will enter match play for just the third time since it was instituted in 2009. It lost matches in 2009 and in Jon Rahm's freshman year (2013).



PAR-70/7,289 YARDS

1. Arizona State 284-278-280-275=1,117/-5
2. Oklahoma State 280-274-274-292=1,120/E
3. Pepperdine 279-286-289-271=1,125/+5
4. Oklahoma 280-279-282-289=1,130/+10
5. Illinois 287-279-278-290=1,134/+14
6. Florida State 281-294-274-287=1,136/+16
7. Vanderbilt 293-280-280-291=1,144/+24
8. North Carolina 288-278-287-292=1,145/+25
T9. Louisville 289-288-287-288=1,152/+32
T9. Sam Houston State 278-292-288-294=1,152/+32
T11. Arkansas 287-293-288-285=1,153/+33
T11.Texas Tech 276-304-288-285=1,153/+33
T13. Clemson 287-284-285-300=1,156/+36
T13. Wake Forest 287-284-282-303=1,156/+36
15. Georgia Tech 289-288-295-297=1,169/+49 (won playoff with TCU on Monday morning)
T15. TCU 292-293-287=872/+32 (lost playoff with Georgia Tech on Monday morning)

1. Turk Pettit, Clemson 68-67-68-70=273/-7 (NCAA Champion)
3. Ryggs Johnston 72-63-71-69=275/-5
T8. Cameron Sisk 70-73-67-69=279/-1
T13. Chun An Yu 74-71-70-67=282/+2
T22. Mason Andersen 68-74-72-70=284/+4
T54. David Puig 74-71-74-72=292/+12