Skip to main content

NFHCA All-Region Picks

Jun 2, 2021

STANFORD, Calif. - Corinne Zanolli and Sarah Johnson have been named NFHCA West All-Region selections, with Zanolli named to the first team and Johnson to the second team.

The first four-time NFHCA All-West Region First Team selection in school history, Zanolli led the Cardinal in goals (20), assists (6), points (46) and shots (96) as one of the nation's premier offensive scoring threats. One of four field hockey finalists for the Honda Sport Award, Zanolli was also named the America East Offensive Player of the Year for the third straight season and earned a spot on the all-conference first team and 10-member All-Academic Team. The most prolific goal scorer in school history, Zanolli scored 94 career goals in 78 games, with the scoring total ranking 16th in NCAA history and the most for any player's career since 2017.

Johnson was named an NFHCA All-West Region Second Team selection for the first time in her career. Johnson finished with four goals, four assists, 12 points, 14 shots and two defensive saves while starting all 14 contests. Johnson delivered the game-winner in the America East Championship final for the second straight season, powering the Cardinal past Monmouth 3-2 in double overtime. Johnson was also named to the all-conference first team for the second consecutive season.

Stanford finished the 2020 season at 11-3 overall and 6-2 in America East play despite reporting to campus in late February during its pandemic-shortened 2021 campaign. The Cardinal continued its conference dominance, securing its fourth America East title in five seasons. Stanford made its 18th NCAA Tournament appearance overall and 11th over the last 14 seasons, defeating Miami (Ohio) 5-4 in overtime before falling to three-time defending NCAA champion North Carolina 2-0 in the quarterfinals. Stanford's success in the classroom was equally impressive, boasting the second-highest cumulative GPA (3.83) of any program in the nation with 16 players earning a spot on the NFHCA's National Academic Squad.