Skip to main content

Football Trio Earns CoSIDA All-District Acclaim

Jun 10, 2021
Caleb Johnson, Quentin Lake and Greg Dulcich (Photos: Don Liebig)

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Greg Dulcich, Caleb Johnson and Quentin Lake of UCLA were selected by CoSIDA to the 2020-21 Academic All-District® 8 Football Team, it was announced Thursday.

Academic All-District® Teams honor the region's top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field and in the classroom. District 8 is comprised of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawai'i, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Canada.

Dulcich, who has recorded a 3.48 GPA in Political Science, ranked second among the nation's tight ends in 2020 with a 19.9 yards per catch average. He was voted a second-team All-Pac-12 Conference selection by the league coaches. Dulcich hauled in a season-best eight passes for 167 yards in last season's game against USC. He has been named to the Athletic Director's Honor Roll at UCLA in six quarters.

Johnson started all seven games last season at inside linebacker and topped the Bruins with 44 tackles and 5.5 sacks. His sacks per game average of 0.79 ranked third in the Pac-12. Johnson, who has earned a 3.39 GPA in the African American Studies major at UCLA, was credited with a season-high 10 tackles in games last season against both Arizona State and Stanford. He was a second-team All-Pac-12 pick by the Associated Press.

Lake saw action in five games as a starter in 2020 and rated fifth on the team in tackles. He registered a career-high 10 tackles and added an interception in last season's contest against USC. The owner of a 3.65 GPA in Sociology, Lake has merited a spot on the Athletic Director's Honor Roll in seven quarters.

All three Bruins were named to the Pac-12 2020-21 Fall Academic Honor Roll and as first-team Academic All-District® honorees will advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America® ballot. First- and second-team Academic All-America® selections will be announced in early July. The CoSIDA Academic All-America® program separately recognizes football honorees in four divisions — NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA.