Skip to main content

Health & Well-Being Initiative


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Pac-12 Research Development Director Dr. Kimberly Harmon honored by American Medical Society for Sports Medicine

Jun 15, 2021

Dr. Harmon, team physician for Washington football, receives AMSSM Founders’ Award

SAN FRANCISCO – In the latest of recognitions extending from the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Health & Well-Being Initiative (SAHWBI), Dr. Kimberly Harmon, team physician for the University of Washington football team and current Pac-12 research development director, was honored by the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) with the society’s 2020 “Founders’ Award” for her contributions to the AMSSM and to the field of sports medicine. The “Founders’ Award” is bestowed when AMSSM leadership determines that a member exemplifies the best that a sports medicine physician can be and do.

“I am incredibly honored and humbled to have received this award,” said Dr. Harmon. “The founders of AMSSM are individuals who have advanced the field of sports medicine in monumental ways. I continue to look up to them and cannot thank them enough for all that they have done for sports medicine, for their mentorship and for this recognition.”

A former board member and chair of the Pac-12 SAHWBI, Dr. Harmon has taken on the role of Pac-12 Research Development Director during the 2020-21 academic season in addition to her duties with the University of Washington. During her early tenure as research development director, she played a key role in overseeing the league’s new partnerships with COVID-19 testing vendors as well as league guidelines, recommendations and protocols for COVID-19 screening and the Pac-12’s return to play during the pandemic, also serving on the Pac-12 COVID-19 medical advisory committee. Her career has also included many other notable efforts, including serving as president of the AMSSM Foundation and as a consultant to the NCAA on a number of special projects. 

“The AMSSM’s Founders’ Award is a tremendous career achievement and we are thrilled for Dr. Harmon to receive such a well-deserved recognition,” said Miguel Rueda, senior associate athletics director of health & performance for the University of Colorado Boulder and current chair of the Pac-12 SAHWBI. “Dr. Harmon has been and continues to be a leader in advancing and promoting the health and well-being of all student-athletes.”

The AMSSM is a multi-disciplinary organization of sports medicine physicians dedicated to education, research, advocacy and the care of athletes of all ages. Learn more about the AMSSM at

About the Pac-12 SAHWBI
Created in 2013, the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Health and Well-Being Initiative (SAHWBI) is a collective effort between the Pac-12 and all 12 member universities to find ways to reduce injuries, share current best practices and latest studies and conduct research to uncover new ways to keep student-athletes as safe as possible. Learn more about the Pac-12 SAHWBI at
About the Pac-12 Conference
The Conference has a tradition as the “Conference of Champions,” leading the nation in NCAA Championships in 55 of the last 61 years, with 537 NCAA team titles overall. The Conference comprises 12 leading U.S. universities - the University of Arizona, Arizona State University, the University of California, Berkeley, the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), the University of Colorado, the University of Oregon, Oregon State University, Stanford University, the University of Southern California, the University of Utah, the University of Washington and Washington State University. For more information on the Conference’s programs and member institutions go to​
About the AMSSM
AMSSM is a multi-disciplinary organization of sports medicine physicians dedicated to education, research, advocacy and the care of athletes of all ages. The majority of AMSSM members are primary care physicians with fellowship training and added qualification in sports medicine who then combine their practice of sports medicine with their primary specialty. AMSSM includes members who specialize solely in non-surgical sports medicine and serve as team physicians at the youth level, NCAA, NFL, MLB, NBA, WNBA, MLS and NHL, as well as with Olympic and Paralympic teams. By nature of their training and experience, sports medicine physicians are ideally suited to provide comprehensive medical care for athletes, sports teams or active individuals who are simply looking to maintain a healthy lifestyle.